How Does One Measure A Year?

It’s Thursday. You know what that means. Please check out my weekly blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

For this week, Melissa chose: In “Seasons of Love” from the musical “Rent,” they ask “How do you measure a year?” Throughout the song, they list the ways in which one might do so. (“In daylights, in sunsets, in midnights, in cups of coffee…”) Talk about how YOU measure a year.

I’ve never seen the musical “Rent”, but I have heard “Seasons of Love”. It’s a beautiful song.

The first thing I thought of when I saw this topic, was the measurements etched in permanent marker on two walls in my house. It’s a way for us to keep track of how much the boys grow year to year, starting with Ben when he was 4 years old. Nolan just started his wall this past year, when he’d sit still long enough so we could do it. Although you’ll notice a squiggly line for his wall:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThat’s due to him moving his head and bumping my arm as I was writing. The first date is March 20th, 2012. He was 17 months old. Hence the squiggle. The second date is his birthday, October 20th, when he turned 2. You can really tell the difference in how he’s grown in just 7 months!

For Ben, he has many more lines on his wall:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I try to remember to make the marks as often as possible, but you can see how well that goes. When you are living life and doing a multitude of other things (and trying to get the kids to stay put gets harder and harder to do), it’s hard to remember. It will be the first thing I have the boys do this afternoon, once Ben is out of school. I think it’s time for an updated mark. The last recorded line was done by Ben’s next door neighbor buddy, who is a few years older. He insisted, and I let him. I’ve known that kid since he was about six years old. Now he’s writing in pretty perfect handwriting on my wall. Funny what just a few short years will do!

Another way I measure a year is through my planner. My husband buys new planner inserts for me every year at Christmas, and right before Jan 1st hits I update the new year with everything I’ve already got planned out. Races. Doctor appointments. Anything I need to schedule, or check into, like birthday parties and celebrations. As I write various names and their birthdays, it always hits me how fast the year has gone by. The hardest for  me this year was seeing my friend Jill’s (who recently passed away, read about Jill here ) name written down in various months for 2012, based on times I had gone to visit with her, or her birthday, which was the same as mine, July 5th. I decided to write her birthday down for 2013, because I refuse to stop celebrating her life, even though she’s no longer with us here on earth.

Lastly, I measure a year through my blog, and this blog project I’m part of. Every week I write. Our topics always make me think, keep me writing, and get me going, even if I don’t feel like it on some particular Thursday. I am held accountable, and that’s what matters.

 

 

 

One thought on “How Does One Measure A Year?”

  1. I enjoyed reading your answers! I have this chart for my older son where I can put in pics of him by each height milestone, showing the age he was when he reached it. The last one was when he was 6.
    Is it me or is Nolan really tall? 🙂

Leave a Reply

