Evaluating My Evaluation

I had to wait a few days, but I received my exam results through ACE.

Wow.

True to form, I seem to excel in the areas I would have felt I lacked the most in, and yet in the areas that require good old fashioned common sense I blew chunks in.

ACE won’t tell you which answers you got wrong. That’s too easy. ACE merely gives you a breakdown of the areas you were tested in, how many you got wrong, how many you got right, and the percentage that this all averaged out to.

I’m not entirely sure if I’m legally allowed to break down the exam, to copy and paste, etc. So to be safe (I know I only have close to 30 followers, but you never know) I won’t. What I will comment on are the areas I need to work on, and what I can do to implement that.

Exercising Programming and Class Design I scored the worst on. It doesn’t make any sense to me. These areas include music, equipment, class planning and exercise movements. So much of this I feel anyone would be able to answer, if you just take the time to think about it. I would have figured this would be an area I did OK in, but that’s not the case. So, I definitely need to work on this before I re-test. My average percentage? A whopping 39%. Ouch!

Group Instructional methods I did much better in.  This category includes teaching methods, instructing students, learning styles and techniques, educating participates on how to monitor their own intensity, observing the movements and helping participants in making modifications, and sticking within the GFI scope of practice. Average here was 70%, which is by no means fantastic, yet it’s passable.

Group Leadership and Class Management is where I scored my one and only 100%. This pertains to leading classes, knowing which movements connect to which muscles (what???) knowing the special populations and what modifications are needed for them, conducting pre-class and ongoing class assessments and which ones to use, communications skills, and customer service skills. Average here was 76%.

Organizational and Professional Skills deals with emergency situations, acute medical conditions and what they are, and how to take care of them should they arise, knowing the various types of insurance available including health, disability, liability, general, professional, etc. Scored a 72% there.

The sad thing is, if I would have just gone with my gut (and not changed a multitude of answers during my freak out mode) I might have done a lot better. I second guessed and went nuts during this test, full of anxiety and fear.

I am SO over it already.

Instead of retaining all of this information, I want to try another approach. I want to BECOME the information. I don’t want to merely try and not forget it, but instead APPLY it. I see that I went about this the wrong way, thinking I’d get by on my memory skills (which I don’t really have) and retention (which is practically non-existent). Time to tackle this in another way!

I really feel that blogging will help. What I write comes from within me. If I can take the information and process it into my words, that’s the ticket. Since I have no clue what will be on the re-take test (it’s never the same) I want to make sure I have as much information applied as possible. I’m going to use my family and friends as guinea pigs, too. Be on the look out!

With that said, I’m going to start TODAY. This wasn’t on the last test, but it’s important to know when you are a fitness instructor (and who knows if it will be on the next test!).

ANTERIOR: Front of the body

POSTERIOR: Back of the body

SUPERIOR: Towards the head

INFERIOR: Away from the head

MEDIAL: Towards the middle of the body

LATERAL: Away from the middle of the body

PROXIMAL: Towards the attached end of a limb

DISTAL: Away from the attached end of a limb

Three planes of motion:

The Sagittal plane divides the body up into left and right. Imagine a line going right down the middle of your body. A work out movement involving the Sagittal plane would be a bicep curl.

The Frontal plane involves the front of the body, or the back of the body. A work out  movement for this plane would be a shoulder movement, like a shoulder press with free weights.

The Transverse plane is a line that cuts you right in the middle. Trunk rotation would be a work out movement in the Transverse plane.

You start to wonder if knowing all of this is even important, but it really is. If modifications are needed due to injuries at certain areas of someone’s body, you can have them still do workouts that are in other planes which won’t interfere with the injuries that are in other planes on the body. If someone is having shoulder issues and has a problem lifting their arms up laterally in the Frontal plane, you can have them perform movements in the Sagittal plane that may not effect the injury depending on it’s location. You can also monitor the movements in each plane to make sure the participant is performing each movement correctly.

 

 

Leave a Reply

