Ringing In The New Year

With the close of every year, and the beginning of a new one, I already have my resolutions comprised and ready to go.

In all honesty, I start this list somewhere during the summer months, and go from there. Yeah, I know. Sad, but oh so very true.

Resolutions are fancy task lists and to-do lists. I thrive on to-do lists. I literally write out a list of the things I want to accomplish daily, and have it on a sticky note attached to my planner. As I complete an item, it’s crossed off. With every stroke of my pen through a completed item, I get a mini-high from it like someone taking a hit off a very potent bong. It makes me feel calm, and serene, with no munchie side effects.

Again, SAD. But oh so very true.

So, in typical fashion for me, here are my resolutions for 2013 (so glad we lived to see it, Mayans!):

  1. Obtaining my group fitness certification: I’d probably have an even better shot at that, if I’d get off the computer and go study. January 11th is the big day, so wish me luck!
  2. Finish my book: 50,000 words done and completed, thanks to Nanowrimo. (go here to check out their website) Yet I’m sure upon printed paper, my words will look like word vomit. I want to clean it up, make it look and sound pretty. Who knows? Maybe it’ll get published!
  3. Date Nights: My husband snuck this one in. He saw my goals for 2013, and wrote “more date nights” down. I think that’s a great idea!  We are in desperate need for time alone.
  4. Run more. I’m training for the Lincoln half with my workout buddy for May, and I’m running the Chicago marathon in October. Gotta keep on, keeping on.

The most important one:

       Be a better me. 

Losing a good friend of mine to cancer has put life into perspective for me. You need to cherish the relationships you have. Appreciate what you’ve been given. Don’t take any of it for granted. This may sound cliche, but it’s 100% true. Love more. Hate less. Life is too short, it really is. I want to do better, and be better. Be a better parent, partner, friend, and family member to my relatives/friends/loved ones. Be in the moment, and savor it. I am always looking ahead, and not at what’s in front of me.

Whether you are a believer in resolutions, or choose to live by the seat of your pants, I wish you a wonderful, healthy, and glorious new year!

Here’s to 2013!

4 thoughts on “Ringing In The New Year”

  1. Great resolutions. I definitely agree about date nights. We just had one over the weekend and it was so nice to get out as grown ups! You’re already a great person so I don’t even know how you could be better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

