I Am…

It’s Thursday. You know what that means. Please check out my weekly blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

For this week, Susanna’s topic choice is to complete the following sentence: “I am….”

Well, if I had to gauge this exact moment in time, I would have to say that I am-

TIRED. I’m visiting my home town right now, sitting on a very comfortable couch with my husband dozing at the opposite end. We flew out to Oregon on Wednesday, before the snow storms hit us in Nebraska, potentially derailing us from this much needed trip. I haven’t been back in close to 3 years, and it’s good to be here. Last night I spent quality time with high school chums I haven’t seen in a very long while, meeting up at a Mediterranean restaurant and laughing so much, it felt as though no time had passed between us at all! I was up until 3a.m., which was well worth it! Doesn’t mean I’m not paying for it today, though.

SAD. My good friend back in Nebraska with terminal cancer is ready to go HOME. While I’ve enjoyed my time here in Oregon thus far, a large part of me is full of devastation whenever I think of her and the incredibly brave fight she’s put in since her initial diagnosis of small cell carcinoma. She wants to let go and move on to the next chapter in her existence, and she will no longer be in pain. She will forever be free. We will see each other in dreams, dear friend.

HOPEFUL. Yesterday, a good friend of mine gave birth to a beautiful little boy, a baby who by all rights is a bit of a miracle. It wasn’t an easy road to pregnancy, and now here he is, healthy and proof positive that life does go on, it will go on and that there is always hope in this world. You can never give up.

LOVED. You sometimes forget how much you mean to someone, and vice versa. Visiting with family and old friends has filled me with love and gratitude. It’s always heartwarming to be around those you know well, and those who know you just as well and are fine with you as is.

 

2 thoughts on “I Am…”

  1. Thanks for the update on your friend. I was wondering about her. I’m sorry you might not get to see her before her home-going.
    I felt the same way about one of my friends having a baby recently.

Leave a Reply

