Black Friday- Love It or Hate It?

Well first off, Happy Thanksgiving! I know I haven’t been on much. With studying for my group fitness certification, as well as taking time out each day to write at least 1300 words for my Nanowrimo novel project, I don’t seem to have a whole lot of time to tend to my blog.

However, Thursdays are the exception to the rule, and even though it’s Thanksgiving today…

It’s Thursday. You know what that means. Please check out my weekly blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

For this week’s topic, Susanna asks: What are your thoughts regarding Black Friday?

Last year was my first experience with Black Friday. And no surprise, I blogged about the experience:

last year’s black friday extravaganza

To be honest, I really don’t feel one way or the other about Black Friday. I was expecting a phenomenal experience in terms of savings, yet I didn’t see that. Maybe it was due to my not being one of the first ones inside the store as it opened, getting the doorbusters and fighting with other people for the last coveted item on a shelf. I just don’t want to put myself through that hassle and annoyance.  I figure there will always be another sale around the corner, and if I miss out this round, maybe I will catch on the next one.

That’s doesn’t mean that I don’t see the appeal, though. For a lot of people, it’s exciting. Bargain shoppers thrill on the idea of saving tons of money on items that would normally be out of their price range. For some, I’m sure it’s a bonding experience in a sense. I have plenty of friends who head out with their mothers, fathers, or siblings, stopping for hot chocolate somewhere before the midnight opening. Grabbing a quick bite to eat at some 24-hour diner before stopping in at a 5am doorbuster event. They brave the crowds together, and I felt some of that while shopping last year with my eldest son.

I know there is a heavy divide here with Black Friday; you either love it, or you hate it. You revel in the late shopping and sales, or you despise the fact that employees have to work on a holiday and you won’t spend a penny contributing to it. My feeling is- do what you want. If you love it, enjoy it! If you hate it, stay home. No one is making you go either way here. You do have a choice in the matter.

As for me? I might take a walk on the wild side- not sure yet. Right now, I’m enjoying the quiet time I have before the big cooking frenzy I’ll become submerged in- roughly 45 minutes from now.

Whether you choose to stay home and be with family, or brave the crowds today and/or tomorrow, I wish you all a wonderful Thanksgiving!

What? Me Worry?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Black Friday- Love It or Hate It?”

Leave a Reply

