My Political Interview- Or Lack Thereof

My political disclaimer: I’m not political.

I’m not sure why I’m not.

Last night was my first presidential debate I’ve ever witnessed. So, with that little blurb out there in the open, we can continue on with our usual scheduled Thursday program:

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

For this week, Tracey chose: If you could have a conversation with any President of the United States who would you want to talk to and what would you talk to them about?

After reading Stephen King’s 11/22/63, I took on a new fascination for President Kennedy. King’s book was based on Kennedy’s assassination (hence the title of his book), and asked the question: If you could go back in time and change that tragic event, what would happen to the rest of time going forward?

There are a lot of queries I would have for good ol’ JFK, and not one of them would be political. A big one would be his rumored discretion with a certain blond bombshell, Ms. Marilyn Monroe. Did this really occur? Were you two in love? How did Jackie feel about this, if it were really true? I know, I sound like the National Enquirer in some respects, but inquiring minds want to know!

Marilyn

JFK was quoted once as stating, “”I wonder how it is for you, Harold? If I don’t have a woman for three days, I get terrible headaches.” He said this to UK Prime Minister Harold Macmillan.

I’d like to ask him how it felt to be the youngest president at that time, at the age of 43. How did he deal with the stress? What was family life like for him, being so much in the spotlight?

So many people felt that Kennedy had a lot to offer and was never given the chance to do so. I wonder too if Kennedy had any inkling as to what would happen to him on that fateful day. Any premonitions? Did he feel the catastrophic outcome circled eerily red on a calendar in his mind and soul?

Really, who was this handsome man who even now has far exceeded his life with rumors, legacies and fables more so than most any other political man in history?

One thought on “My Political Interview- Or Lack Thereof”

  1. Great post! We obviously weren’t around during his assassination, but it’s sad to think about. I remember my mom telling me where she was when he was shot.

Leave a Reply

