October- A Busy Month Indeed

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

For this week’s topic, Susanna chose: What are your goals for next month?

I chuckled a bit to myself when I read our topic choice. I’d say I’m the queen of goals, lists and tasks. I cannot imagine what my life would be like if I didn’t have my trusty planner to see my through, and I have goals and to-do lists that stretch out to the end of this year and leading into the next!

For October, a big priority of mine is to continue with my marathon training, in order to complete the Des Moines run on the 21st. Once that’s done, I plan on having a peaceful and relaxing rest of the year. I’ll still run, but I won’t run a lot of double digit days. I also want to incorporate more strength training into my routine and see what sort of change that produces.

This morning, I found Nolan standing in him room, diaper removed and placed on the floor as an afterthought. I immediately asked him if he’d like to sit on the toilet, and he obliged me willingly and happily. I think now is the time to start subtly working on getting him more interested in potty training, and make a routine out of using the potty here and there, not forcefully. Just to get the ball rolling. October is going to be a month of consistency.

I want to be a help to my friend who has cancer, and I am sure I’ll be seeing a lot of her the coming months. She’s a very strong, proud lady; getting her to relinquish tasks is very hard, but she is starting to relent some and allow me to assist her. I am keeping a lot of my days open for visits and anything else she might need.

I’d like to start on a fall cleaning of my house. I know, usually that’s called “spring” cleaning, yet the spring is just too nice of a time period out here in Nebraska to waste on staying indoors. I need to go through a lot of the junk we don’t use, and give it a away. I’d like to clean out the scary areas of my house (i.e. the furnace/storage area) and get rid of the cobwebs and spiders that enjoy dwelling there. My basement is the one room in the house I’d love to enter into Trading Spaces, if that show even exists anymore. I haven’t done anything remotely decorative to it, and I would like to work on that this fall/winter, starting in October.

I have the usual tasks that come up- doctor and dental appointments, karate classes for Ben, a bridal shower and wedding to attend, a zoo run, work party functions, etc. not to mention the day-to-day stuff that I work on, studying being a big part of that.

All in a day’s  month’s work.

 

One thought on “October- A Busy Month Indeed”

  1. Sounds like you have a lot going on. 🙂 Glad we both are planning to do some cleaning. Maybe we can motivate each other! (BTW, I will have my son write your son back soon. Things have been insane here!)

Leave a Reply

