Oh Coccyx!

I’m using the word “coccyx” as a substitute for bad language. Like the F word. Or the S word. Cuss words that come to mind when I shift a little to the left, or bend over slightly to pick something up.

In essence, I have a love/hate relationship with my coccyx.

A shout out to the jerk who started it all- the guy who thought it would be fun to trip me when I was roller skating one night at the local rink. He wanted to be funny and clown around, clipping me as he cut me off. My 14 year old ass hit the floor so hard, I couldn’t walk right for weeks afterwards.

Every few years or so after the incident, I’ll get this odd flare up and it renders me butt challenged. It doesn’t have to be anything remotely physical. One time I merely stood up from a sitting position. My first pregnancy I escaped the pain unscathed, but wasn’t as lucky with my second one and hobbled around in a crouched position.

I know exactly what happened. When the jerk tripped me, I landed flat on my tailbone, bending it. I know this due to countless exams and x-rays. The last chiropractor I saw (who was a total flake by the way) told me I could never bike ride again. He said this as he moved my neck slightly to the left, than to the right, sending me on my way. He was partially correct- bike riding does aggravate this condition, yet there are countless times I’ve gone out and not had any issues. It really seems there’s no rhyme or reason to when I’ll have a flare up. In 2009, I flared up the day before my first 1/2 marathon. I was so pissed off, the morning of the race I popped 800 milligrams of Motrin, and did the run anyway. The pain went away WHILE I WAS RUNNING and went away for almost 2 years. Does this make sense?!?

Yesterday (ran 7 miles earlier that morning) I sat for roughly an hour, blogging and writing. When I went to stand, I felt a twinge in my lower back region, squirreling down into my tailbone area, and that was it. I was unable to walk. The only way I could deal was to bend over at a perpendicular angle and take baby steps. Speaking of steps, going up them is difficult. Lots of stretching, ibuprofin and massaging (thank you to my husband) helps a little, but I’m still super sore today. Having a clingy little 2 year old who wants to be held all the time certainly doesn’t help.

Am I the only one who suffers from this condition? I’ve done some research on stretches for the affected area, and I found this one to be very helpful:

http://www.livestrong.com/article/371112-stretches-for-a-pain-in-the-tailbone/

 

Leave a Reply

