You Are Quitting Your Job To Do WHAT?!?

It never fails.

When people find out I’m quitting my current job, the immediate question is, “Why?”

Followed by: “What are you going to do after you quit?”

And then I get this sheepish look on my face, because I feel stupid to even answer that question. No one seems to really get it when I respond with:

“I’m obtaining my group fitness certification, so I can teach classes at the gym.”

This is where I am faced with either a polite smile, an “oh, that sounds nice” canned comment, or my personal favorite, the I’m-going-to-give-you-a-smirk-so-you-know-I-think-you-are-making-a-big-mistake look.

“Good luck with that” is never far behind.

I’m sure my own response to the inquiries bleed into someone’s response to my new career choice. If I were more confident, they would have no choice but to be accepting, right? I mean, I realize how strange it sounds, considering how I used to view gym classes:

Richard Simmons, sweatin’ to the oldies

I would have  never envisioned this path for my life. If you’d seen me even ten years ago, working out was something forced upon me for torturous purposes. I was still riding high on my genes and high metabolism to see me through, until that failed me, and I gained over 30 pounds due to lots of beer, lots of chicken wings, and a whole lot of steak fries.

After I couldn’t button up my largest jeans, I knew something had to give.

On my path, I’ve discovered my own health goals. I would never and could never be a size 0. I’m not trying to be the sexiest woman on the planet, have the hardest body, or exist on lettuce and carrots alone. I want to run long distances, push myself to the limits to see how much strength I can exude, and enjoy a healthy, active lifestyle. That’s my own personal check off list.

Friends of mine over the years would ask for advice, or join me on my journey in search of their own wants and desires when it came to fitness. I’ve learned so much, and in the process I’ve taught a lot, too. I realized just how much fun I have working out, testing the limits and how good it feels to help others. I want to continue that.

Hence, group fitness.

I don’t want to be the next Jillian Michaels. I’m currently working part time hours where I’m employed in order to be home with my boys during the week, and that is the continued goal for me. Eventually, I’d like to have my own studio, but I know it’s going to take time for me to get enough experience under my belt to achieve that, and it’s OK by me. I can give it time.

I know this is where I belong. Anything worth having, is worth waiting for.

From this:

To this:

4 thoughts on “You Are Quitting Your Job To Do WHAT?!?”

Leave a Reply

