It’s All About ME!

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

This week, Melissa chose to let each of us celebrate our own individual attributes, with: It’s all about self-love…Compliment yourself (as many or as few compliments as you want) OR tell us about something nice you’d like to do for yourself (if money and time were unlimited). You can even do both if you want, but not required. 

It’s not a socially acceptable thing, it seems, to pat yourself on the back. If you revel in your own special skills or talents, you might be seen as arrogant, or a show off. As a mother, I also feel that pressure to put my family first, to showcase their own abilities.

So, I appreciate Melissa’s topic for this week. I’m given permission to give myself some accolades!

One aspect I value is friendship. I think I’m a good friend, and a loyal friend. I have a hard time letting people go, and it shows when you look at the list of friends I have on my Facebook page. I have friends from childhood on, and when we see each other it feels as though no time has passed, even if years have gone by since we’ve last seen each other.

I also appreciate my ability to keep my mouth shut, should that be required of me. My friends know that they can count on me to stay quiet. I am pretty good at keeping secrets.

I don’t give up. If I see a challenge, I try to face it and overcome it. At times, this has been to my own detriment, because I end up beating dead horses and not letting something die when it needs to be laid to rest. I see tasks as goals to complete, and it might take me longer than it might take others, but I do everything I can to accomplish it!

I’m a laid back person, and pretty accepting of other people, even if their views differ from mine. What’s strange is most of my friends are individuals who have much stronger personalities than my own. I almost always lie somewhere in the middle, my friends are all way to the left, or way to the right. I figure I surround myself with people like that in order to glean strength; they have some pretty tough opinions on things, while I don’t.

I love singing. I sing all the time, and I’m sure I annoy people, but I have a pretty good voice. I was in choir for years and had a voice teacher for a while when I was a teenager. I also know a lot of songs. This leads me into singing with the song, hence the annoyance from others. I should go on one of those shows where they showcase your song knowledge. I think I’d do well.

I’m good with words. Since working in an office atmosphere, I’ve always been the go-to girl when it comes to comprising letters and notices.

I think I’m a good mom. I am sure that’s debatable depending on who you talk to, since we all have different parenting styles, but I care so much about my kids, and I make sure to be actively involved with them when it comes to school, activities, or playing with them.

Overall, I try hard to be a good person in this life. I’m no where near perfect. I make mistakes on a daily basis, but that’s just me. And I totally embrace that. My lack of perfection in my opinion is a good quality to have. I wouldn’t have it any other way!

 

 

 

One thought on “It’s All About ME!”

Leave a Reply

