Hey! It’s National Left Hander’s Day!

I was a freshmen in high school, sitting in biology class while my teacher was attempting to teach us heredity, asking those in attendance:

“Who here is right handed?”

Everyone, EVERYONE in the class raised their hands, most likely the right arm to prove a point.

When my teacher asked who was left handed, I was the only person to raise her hand.

There were a few snickers that erupted from random adolescent boys. Which looking back, their behavior was really stupid, but at the time I felt like a horrible outcast. Not to mention I was wearing my favorite MC Escher shirt:

I had this broadcast onto the front of me, and one kid pointed out the irony of such a shirt. They were RIGHT HANDS. No room for a lefty in the group.

This experience wasn’t the only time I felt ousted. First grade year proved difficult. I had an old lady teacher named Mrs. Jarvis who felt left handers were siding with the devil. She tried with all her might to change me. She’d yank the pencil out of my  hand and put it into my right hand. Then she’d yell at me when my penmanship was nothing short of God awful. When she finally realized there was no way I’d write the “right” way, she would try to adjust the way I positioned my paper. See, lefties have this tendency to keep the paper turned to the side, instead of straight up and down. This irritated her so she’d move my paper every time she walked by.

How I survived that class, I’ll never know.

Through the years I’ve received some torment here and there, mostly from the older crowd who were raised to believe the riduclous notion that lefties are bad. Research has been done, it’s been proven that people are either right or left handed and there’s no personal choice being made there. In the wise words of Lady Gaga, “Baby you were born that way.”

From what I’ve read, lefties are more creative. Yet, we are more prone to having mental illness. (Don’t worry, I’ll put away the steak knife). We tend to be more emotional. A few other facts about us southpaws:

  • More likely to have allergies
  • More prone to migraines
  • More likely to be insomniacs
  • Use the right side of the brain the most
  • Three times more likely to become alcoholics – the right side of the brain has a lower tolerance to alcohol!
  • More likely to suffer stuttering and dyslexia
  • Better at 3D perception and thinking
  • Better at multi-tasking
  • Live on average 9 years less than right handed people

Wow. Some of these are depressing, but I don’t regret the way I am. I don’t mind getting smudges of ink on my arm as I write, or my issues with using scissors if they aren’t specifically made for a lefty. I appreciate my uniqueness, and anyway, what’s that expression?

“A lefty thinks with the right side of the brain… so they are in their “right” mind”.

Leave a Reply

