Passions

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

For this week’s topic, Tracey selected: Pursuing your passion.

One passion of mine is writing. I’ve been an author in my own mind since childhood, and although I dream of one day having a novel that gets published, it’s not a necessity. The ability to share my thoughts and express myself through the written word truly is enough for me. Should a novel work it’s way into my realm of consciousness (it’s so hard right now for me to focus or devote a lot of time and effort to it) I’d feel incredibly blessed. In the meantime, I’ll stick to my blog as well as entering the occasional contest to keep up on my skills.

Another passion under my belt (and one that blindsided me) is my love of running, and fitness overall. I had no clue as to how enjoyable hitting the pavement in 30 degree weather could be, yet there I am every winter, bundled up and ready for the challenge! This summer has been insane with high temperatures going over 100 degrees, and I’m out there four days a week early morning, attempting to beat the heat. When I’m not running, I’m attending two gym classes a week to keep up on strength training. I feel my body getting stronger, and I can see the muscle definition slowly creeping in and I appreciate the changes taking place, both physically as well as mentally. When life gets complicated, working out calms me down and keeps me focused. I’m working on obtaining my group fitness instructor certification, so I can assist other people in reaching their goals and pursuing their own passions.

I’ve always felt that pursuing your passion is an important aspect to life. In fact, I feel as though you aren’t really living if you don’t have a dream. We all have something we truly enjoy. It’s that one thing (or more than one thing) that drives you and if you weren’t able to partake in it, your life would feel less than satisfying.

2 thoughts on “Passions”

Leave a Reply

