I Hate Burpees

For those of you fortunate enough to not know what a burpee is, please see the photo above.

I did not know these torture chamber-like moves were called “burpee”. I only knew that performing this move was like asking me to step inside a room with nothing but wasps swarming around.

I’m allergic.

And this is a very popular routine in the fitness world. Ok, yeah, I get it. It gets results. It’s a good way to gauge your cardiovascular fitness. Blah Blah Blah.

When I’m having to actually execute this move, the reasons for the burpee’s existence is of no consequence to me.

Today in my Boot Camp class, guess what was thrown in for good measure and fun? BURPEES! We’d do the move for 30 seconds. Then do a back lunge routine while lifting weights. And then 45 seconds of the burpee. Back lunge routine. Back to burpee for a minute, and then back down the pyramid, so the next round was again 45 seconds, and then back to 30.

And it’s not as though I can refuse the move. I can’t stand there with my hands on my hips, pouting like a whiny little school girl. I do it because it’s part of the job. It’s what’s being dealt to me when I sign on for these gym classes, and even though I swear I see glimmers of pleasure in the instructor’s eyes when they hear us groan and grunt in frustration, I will continue to do it because I won’t cop out.

But I will loathe the burpee. I have no love for them and I never will!

**Look at this guy!**

 

Leave a Reply

