Guns Don’t Kill People; 32 oz Sodas Kill People

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

This week, Susanna picked our topic: It is illegal in some parts of this country to buy a 32 ounce soda but it isn’t lllegal to buy a gun.

When I was a young girl, I remember walking with my sister and step siblings to a Plaid Pantry a couple of miles down the road from where we lived. Anytime we had some spare change in our pockets, our first thought was, “Let’s go and buy some pop!” (In Oregon, we call it pop). This was a treat. It was an adventure, and the fruits of our labor was a delicious 32 oz. Coke or Pepsi, and we’d slurp on straws all the way home.

So, how could that be illegal?

I understand what certain states are trying to accomplish. If you hadn’t noticed from previous posts of mine, I’m a fitness buff and I work on having a healthy lifestyle. This includes a healthy diet. I am sure taking away the right to having that much soda in one container seems to be a way to save lives. However, this won’t stop someone from purchasing a 24 pack of their favorite soft drink and consuming as many cans as they want to later, and at their own discretion. People are accountable for their own health. It astounds me the crazy laws you will find from state to state, this being one of them. A few others (I’ve picked the states I have lived in prior, and the one I’m currently living in):

Oregon: It is illegal to place a container filled with human fecal matter on the side of any highway. Really? My first thought is, someone actually DID THIS in order for it to be a law!

Drivers may not pump their own gas. Oregon is one of the last states to uphold this law. I’ll tell you what though- it was nice having full service at a gas station.

It is illegal to whisper “dirty” things in your lover’s ear during sex. Well hell. I’m in trouble.

Nebraska: If a child burps during church, his parent may be arrested. Oh, that’s right. I live in the bible belt, don’t I?

It is Illegal to go whale fishing.  Damn! And I had my harpoon all ready to go! And no oceans to catch a whale in!

It is illegal for a mother to give her daughter a perm without a state license. This one makes perfect sense. What mother wants a daughter suing over a bad perm job?

Arizona: Donkeys cannot sleep in bathtubs. Good to know!

You may not have more than two dildos in a house. Well, I guess it’s only fair. Why should one person have all the fun?

When being attacked by a criminal or burglar, you may only protect yourself with the same weapon that the other person possesses. I’ll show you mine, if you show me yours?

Now speaking of weapons, I have friends and know people who currently carry a weapon’s permit and own a gun. I’m not one of those people. Guns scare me. The old adage, “Guns don’t kill people; people kill people” is often recited, but the issue I take with that is that yes. People do kill people, and they are usually holding a gun! There needs to be stricter enforcement for individuals who carry a firearm. The recent tragedy in Colorado should be proof of that. This young man was able to acquire a multitude of bullets ONLINE. I am surprised a red flag didn’t pop up when he proceeded to pay for 6000 rounds of ammo! From everything I’ve read however, it appears it’s going to be an uphill battle to lay down tougher laws re: guns. There are a lot of people who buy guns to protect themselves, their homes and their families. It’s their sole purpose for ever owning a gun. They also have protection. Ever hear of “The right to bear arms?” I just wish more people respected that right and didn’t misuse it. Also, I wish those with guns did a better job at locking them away so that their children, teenagers or anyone else who wants a gun doesn’t have easy access to them. I’ve heard of too many tragedies pertaining to kids who get a hold of their parent’s weapons. I really hope there can be more education, more guidelines, better screening processes that will help keep people safe.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Guns Don’t Kill People; 32 oz Sodas Kill People”

  1. so much to say here…
    i love the one about talking dirty in a lover’s ear. how do they even catch that? (“um, i saw you whispering. was that something…naughty?!?”)
    if you don’t want your child burping in church, then don’t buy them the 32 oz soda. 🙂
    when i lived in nj, it was illegal to pump your own gas. this law served me well in the winter. station attendants would get all up in my face if i even got out of my car to go into the convenience store of a gas station.

    as for what you said about guns being accessible by kids/teens, i was thinking of that episode from “beverly hills 90210” where david’s friend accidentally shoots himself. it was so scary and disturbing. sad too.

    thanks for sharing all the funny laws. i should see what they have as laws in my neck of the woods.

    1. You should! We do come up with some crazy topics from time to time. I thought I was following your blog, but I haven’t been getting notifications when you post. So I am following.. again. 🙂 We’ll see if that works!

Leave a Reply

