Why I Didn’t Work Out Today.. Or Yesterday.. Or The Day Before..

Because I just didn’t feel like it, okay?

There.

Well hell. That doesn’t amount to much of a blog post.

Sunday I was driving back from my fun trip to Minnesota:

https://momarock.wordpress.com/2012/07/30/wabasha-for-grumpy-old-men-and-me/

Monday I was feeling too jet lagged (which isn’t affiliated with 6 hour car trips, but it’s equatable to how I felt). This feeling was due to late nights, little sleep and alcoholic beverages.

And today? I made the executive decision to dust off my P90X routines and do Stretch X:

So, what’s going on with me?

Do you see the laziness factor here, even with this blog post? Blech.

I think all fitness enthusiasts find themselves facing the proverbial brick wall from time to time. Maybe it’s due to over training. Maybe it’s due to repetitive routines. Or, partial blame may lie with a certain 21 month old who has decided he wants to escape the confines of his crib and wreak havoc on his poor parents. I’m going to shoot in the dark here and guess it’s a combination of all three of those things.

So, what can I do about it?

Not working out is my first step. I needed a serious break in my usual regime. I could tell I was sluggish and worn out and feeling horribly sore. These are often the first signs of over training. The next step is figuring out how to change up a few things in my usual weekly work out routine. As it is, a normal week for me consists of 4 days of running, 2 days of strength training, and one day off. I am trying to figure out an alternative or alternatives to where my training isn’t compromised. I am training for another marathon in October, and need to get my mileage in each week. Yet, I feel strength training helps in keeping my muscles fit in order to carry my body safely while I run.

Are there any other runners or fitness enthusiasts out there who read my blog, who could give me some advice? I have a few ideas, but I’d love to hear from others to get a more rounded view on various routines and regimes and what has worked for them. I’m willing to give your suggestions a try and see if it works for me!

In the meantime, I’ll get to work on curbing the roaming  habits of my toddler, yet my intuition tells me on that front, I’m screwed.

Leave a Reply

