Keeping Your Mouth Shut… It’s A Powerful Thing

Recently, a fellow blogger talked about her feelings regarding some reviews she’d read regarding her own blog. These reviewers were not kind. I know, because I was curious and decided to read some of what was said to get an idea behind this blogger’s anger and annoyance. And I don’t blame her. I would have been pretty pissed off, too.

I understand that whatever is said on our personal blogs is spit out into the universe for all others to read and judge. We are all entitled to our own opinions, and allowed to express said opinions, but DAMN.

Do people need to be so harsh?

Some of these reviewers admitted that they were following the blog they were so annoyed by! If you are so annoyed by something being written, why keep reading? Don’t follow it. Delete it and move on. My fellow blogger wasn’t trying to cause trouble or to start some debate, but to merely talk about her personal life and her goals. Most of what was said was motivational, and even that was attacked. The fact that she was trying to uplift people and give encouraging words was made fun of.

I just don’t get that.

I slip under the radar because I don’t have many followers. No one knows who I am, and hell, maybe I don’t write many interesting stories to have more people pay attention to me, and that’s OK. I’m not in this for glory. I want to write, and some of you enjoy me, others might not. I’d expect the ones who don’t just skip over me and move on to someone else that suits their liking, and isn’t that the way this was meant to be? And isn’t the goal here to SUPPORT fellow writers?  I understand if someone has written something you disagree with. Comment that. Don’t go to another website assuming the person won’t see what horrible things you have to say about them. It takes a lot of guts to put yourself out there to the mass public and no guts at all being catty behind someone’s back.

The old adage: “If you don’t have something nice to say, don’t say it at all.” Well, there you go.  Still so undeniably true.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Angry? Let’s burn the anger right out of you!

A couple of intense moves at boot camp today, to get the heart going!

First, hold a 5 lb hand weight between your hands, while standing. Squat down so the weight is touching the floor. Take said hand weight up above your head as you jump up, pretending to make a jump shot. We did these roughly 6-8 times, six reps. Don’t just bend over to put the weight down. That’s cheating. You want to squat every time you put that weight to the floor.

If you still have some energy, run in place, knees high. Six reps of this, at 20 seconds each time you do it. It sounds easy in print, but it’s a killer.

If you don’t have a hand weight, use a water bottle, or nothing at all.

 

 

Leave a Reply

