What I Cannot Live Without…

My boys

Before I begin with my usually scheduled Thursday blog post, I just want to sing a quick song to myself:

“Happy Birthday to me… Happy Birthday to me… Happy Birthday dear Sara… Happy Birthday to me.”

Yes, it’s my birthday today- I turned 34 at 11:49a.m. (I am one of those obnoxious people who knows what time they were born). I’ll talk more about my getting older in tomorrow’s post. Let’s get back to today’s, which on Thursdays look like this:

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

For this week, Susanna’s topic choice: In light of all the fires and other natural disasters, if you had to evacuate you home, what would you take with you and why? If your home was destroyed what would you miss most?

Of course, I would take my family, and our dog. That’s usually the response to a question like this, but I know Susanna was wanting to know beyond that. Beyond the obligatory.

Which does make it more difficult. Would I already have my cell phone with me? I usually do, in my purse. And speaking of my purse, I’d probably want to try and grab that, so a lot of the important information regarding my person (driver’s license, health insurance card, credit cards, etc.) would be with me.

The netbook might be a useful tool to have around, in case I have to look something up. It also contains a lot of photos of my family. I could see my husband approving, considering how expensive computers are.

Knowing me though, I’d probably chuck all of those items for the ones that are more personal and sentimental. Photos of me and my family, especially my children’s baby pictures and mementos from when they were little. My husband made me a beautiful book that he created to propose to me with, and I could see myself holding tightly onto that while running out of the house. So much of what we have can be replaced, but items such as these are important keepsakes.

Knowing my son, he’d want me to save as many Legos as I could.

If my home was destroyed, what I would miss most would be simply that: my home. There’s a sense of security when it comes to where you live, and I’d feel stripped of that. I cannot fathom how that must feel and my heart aches for those who have had to deal with a situation like that. It always astounds me the strength and courage someone has to endure this type of disaster, and carry on.

One thought on “What I Cannot Live Without…”

  1. i can’t believe i didn’t think of the cell phone. probably because it’s always with me anyway. i take it for granted. i know what you mean about the security. great post, b-day girl!

Leave a Reply

