An Early Homage to the 4th of July

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

For this week, in early anticipation of Independence Day, Melissa’s topic choice was: “America” 
Since July 4th is coming up the following week (but the next post will be after the holiday), I thought we could write about anything to do with America. Favorite places to go, favorite songs about America, what makes you American/how living in America has affected your personality, favorite presidents, etc. anything goes!

July 4th has always been a favorite holiday of mine. For one, my husband has that day off, as do I. Neither of us are in a rush to get out the door. We can spend most of the day in our pajamas if we choose to! Secondly,  my  birthday is July 5th, so I almost feel as though I have two special days to look forward to.

Since moving to Nebraska, I’ve mainly spent my time out at my friend’s cabin for the 4th. I drive roughly 45 minutes to get to Lake Platteview, and I spend the whole day there, swimming in it’s warm waters, basking in the sun, eating fantastic cabin burgers and bbq chicken, and at night watching the amazing fireworks while floating on the lake in a little motor boat. It’s breathtaking.

The  years I haven’t been able to make it out to the lake, my family and I spend the holiday here at home. We have some bbq, and when it gets dark enough, we light fireworks with the rest of the neighborhood. It’s a very relaxing, special time for us.

I appreciate that we are able to light fireworks here in Nebraska. I’ve previously lived in locations where you were not able to, and the appeal just isn’t there for me as it is when you can light them in your own driveway. I know, I know… it’s not as safe. I get that. But, growing up, watching my father light fireworks was a very exciting and fun experience for me, and it’s nice to be able to give that same experience to my boys, in a safe and responsible manner of course.

So, since I might be too consumed with watching things blow up on the actual day, I’ll take this time now to wish everyone a safe and happy Fourth of July!

 

2 thoughts on “An Early Homage to the 4th of July”

Leave a Reply

