A Random Act of Kindness

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

For my topic this week, I wanted to pay my respects to someone I recently met with: What is a random act of kindness you’ve witnessed, or that you’ve done, or that someone has done for you?

Not too long ago, I had blogged about my recent health concerns and the experience I had surrounding that:

https://momarock.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/lymph-nodes-to-lymphoma-my-slippery-slope-to-becoming-a-hypochondriac/

While I was sitting in the Oncology waiting room, completely afraid and incredibly nervous, a woman sat across from me, watching me. I’d occasionally glance up to see her eyes lock with mine, and I’d look at something else, or check my phone. Make myself busy so she would stop seeing through me.

After a few minutes, she walked up to me, and asked if she could give me a hug, because it looked as though I really needed one.

I stood up and let her hug me, and I cried while she told me that no matter what the outcome, or what the doctor would tell me in a few moments, that everything would be O.K. She told me how wonderful the doctors were in this particular office, and that they would take good care of me.

She told me her name was Bev. The receptionist refers to her as “Bev: Mom to All” because she is so caring and attentive to the other patients. Bev has a type of cancer that will keep coming back, no matter how often she receives treatment to get rid of it. She was only given a few months to live at the time of her diagnosis, yet she informed me it had been 9 months since, and she was healthy and strong. Looking at her, there was  no reason for me to believe otherwise.

I was in awe and deeply touched by this woman, who did not know me, yet wanted to comfort me and make me feel better during a very scary moment in my life. She saw in me a need for compassion and that I needed to be informed that life would go on. If the results would be bad ones, it wasn’t going to be the end of my life.

She kept reaffirming that being positive is so important. It sounds so cliche, but it really is so true, and I felt burdened in that moment by my own fears and negativity, and to see this woman with a strong and wonderful outlook on the world made me see how really misguided I had become.

As she walked out of the waiting room, she smiled a gentle, warm smile that said, “You are going to be just fine.”

I never did get Bev’s last name, but I knew that she checked in for treatment monthly. I mailed a thank you card addressed to: Bev, Mom To All to the clinic, and requested that the receptionist hand it to her the next time she would be in. I let Bev know how much her words really helped me in my time of need, and what a positive force she was for me and I’m sure for the other patients that she mothers.

I thank God for Bev, and pray for her healing every day. It’s the least I can do.

 

2 thoughts on “A Random Act of Kindness”

  1. Really powerful. It sounds like she was there for a reason that day and not just for her own needs. Sometimes things just happen that way. I’m sure she loved the note.

Leave a Reply

