For Father’s Day

“My father didn’t tell me how to live; he lived, and let me watch him do it.” – Clarence B. Kelland

My dad and my son, Benjamin.

“A truly rich man is one whose children run into his arms when his hands are empty.” – Unknown

My husband, holding his newborn baby boy Nolan

“Dad, you’re someone to look up to no matter how tall I’ve grown.” – Author Unknown

Benjamin’s Dad; sparring with each other.

“I cannot think of any need in childhood as strong as the need for a father’s protection.” – Sigmund Freud

“My father gave me the greatest gift anyone could give another person, he believed in me.” – Jim Valvano

Surprising Ben at school

“Dad, your guiding hand on my shoulder will remain with me forever.” – Author Unknown

My father, who never seems to age.

In my world, I am surrounded by three fathers who are all very important to me in different ways.

I have my own father, who I see as my personal hero. He is the type to hop on his bike and peddle hundreds of miles, and participate in various bike rides and races. He teaches a spin class at the local gym, helping others achieve their fitness goals. He believes in dreams and reaching his goals, and working hard, and he taught me a lot about those things.

I have  Benjamin’s father, who works with me in raising Ben, not against me. We are better friends now than when we were married, and I am very grateful for that. It’s not unheard of for him to join us for dinner or outings, or to stop in and say hello. Although this might seem odd to those on the outside looking in, it’s what works for us.

And then there’s my husband, who works very hard to take care of his family, his #1 priority. It’s so important to him to be the best dad and husband he can be, and he shows this to me every day in various ways. I know how very lucky I am to have him in my life.

I have such gratitude and appreciation for the fathers in my world, and I know I am so blessed!

Here’s wishing all of you fathers out there a fantastic Father’s Day!

Leave a Reply

