Dear Sara: A Letter To My Younger Self

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

For this week, Tracey’s choice for topic: Write a “Dear Me” letter to your younger self. (You can choose any point in time.)

Dear 23 Year Old Sara:

Hi there. It’s me. Or should I say, you.

I’m currently 33 years old. I know, hard to imagine, isn’t it? You used to think that age was OLD. I’m here to tell you, it’s not.

Guess what? I’m a runner. I’ve done marathons. I eat healthy, and I actually enjoy it! I know you don’t, right now. And that’s OK. Don’t worry about it. Just enjoy your life. Enjoy being young! Let me worry about keeping us healthy and youthful the rest of our life. Your job is to revel in being 23, because you can’t get that time back, ever.

You are most likely going through a very traumatic period. You are dealing with some serious grown up issues. At my current age, I can see why getting married young is a BAD IDEA, but you didn’t know any better. It seemed like the right thing to do at the time, and you will get through this. Don’t forget how strong you are, and how brave. You’ve been through so much in your young life leading up to this point, don’t let it be what knocks you down.

Don’t put your passions on the back burner. As you’ve gotten older, you’ve had to take care of responsibilities that don’t allow much time for writing a novel, or being in a play. Do it now, because you won’t be able to later, and I should know. Believe me, I know.

You are going to have some amazing friends who stay with you over the next decade. In fact, some of them you currently are holding onto right now, will be like sisters to you. Trust them more, and let them in. They mean well, and they love you a whole lot. Those are the types of friendships you never want to let go of.

You are going to do some crazy things over the next 10 years or so. I’d love to divulge more information, but if I did, you’d change the course of our life, and I don’t want that to happen. It all has brought us to here, and here is a pretty good place. It might be a difficult path to get here, but there is peace. And it is worth it.

And speaking of crazy… promise me that you get your tattoo. Don’t chicken out. That tattoo is a symbol for you, and it continues to be one. And, it still looks good girl.

All my love,

Sara Lea

Me at 23, with my BFF J
2 thoughts on “Dear Sara: A Letter To My Younger Self”

Leave a Reply

