Summer Days

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

For this week’s topic, Susanna’s choice: It is summer. Do you dread the hot, humid days that can lack structure or do you relish the slower pace? Or is it just another day?

Remember when we were kids? Man, nothing brought on more excitement then knowing it was summer break. That last day of school was agonizing! Summer days seemed to stretch on forever.

Fast forward to now. Being a grown up has it’s perks, but definite disadvantages. Gone are those lazy days of summer. There are responsibilities to tend to, jobs, kids, tasks that need done. I can recall feeling as though I had so much to do when I was a kid, and seriously, I had no clue as to how good I had it back then!

That being said though, there are a lot of things I enjoy about the summer. For starters, summer is my favorite season of the year. This may be in part to my being born in July, but I would take the heat over the cold any day! I love that I don’t have to wear heavy clothing. I can throw on a dress and sandals and I’m good to go.

I hate being cooped up in the house, and summer months offer a lot of good weather days. Put on some sunscreen, and my boys and I can head out the door and partake in a lot of fun outdoor activities. Even a trip to the park is worth it for them.

I’m able to do a lot of early morning runs in weather that is fantastic, and I don’t have to deal with pitch black darkness either. It’s pretty bright outside by 6am.

I’m a lot more relaxed during the summer. My boys go to bed later. They sleep in later. I don’t have to worry about getting Ben to school.

If I had my way, I’d have summer all year long! Of course, this will never happen, living in Nebraska.

But still.

 

One thought on “Summer Days”

Leave a Reply

