Who Lacks The Travel Gene? This Gal, Right Here!

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

This week, Tracey’s topic choice was very fitting, since my family and I will be taking a road trip to South Dakota in less than two weeks: What type of traveler are you? Are you über organized and have everything planned out so there is no last minute stuff? Or do you leave everything to the last minute?

Well, my husband will get to experience yet again my lack or skills when it comes to packing.

I swear, I was born without the spatial acuity gene.

It’s not that I’m not organized. That’s where I excel! I create lists of items that need to travel with us, and I place said items onto my bed, crossing off each one on my list. Another task fulfilled!

Here’s where the plan falls apart.

I’m no good with putting these said items into a suitcase. Or a box. A diaper bag. In the car. And I leave a pile of goodies for my poor husband to contend with, and this becomes “his” job.

Not to completely shoot myself in the foot here, but this has been my tactical approach through the years, with my ex-husbands as well. I seem to sense this strong weakness in me, and have always found someone who thrives on fitting a thousand small items into one small suitcase. Voila!

However, when I have packed something (that hasn’t been scrutinized and changed up to not resemble a big blob of crap thrown into a bag) my bag always makes it. Nothing is broken. Clothes are wrinkly, for sure, but it’s something I can live with. And isn’t that half the battle? That something arrives at it’s destination in one piece?

I think so.

Kevin, Christmas 2008; Dismayed at my poor packing skills of ornament hooks

 

 

One thought on “Who Lacks The Travel Gene? This Gal, Right Here!”

Leave a Reply

