Fitness Cheat Sheet: What To Wear

-Gear: hat/gloves/pants/shirt/jacket/socks/shoes/reflective belt (in cold months)

Make sure the fabric you wear wicks away sweat and does not retain moisture in warm months. Cotton is rotten!

Shoes should serve the purpose they were meant to be used for; get properly fitted!

The section above was copied from my recent blog post regarding my own personal Fitness Cheat Sheet:

https://momarock.wordpress.com/2012/05/09/my-fitness-cheat-sheet/

I’ve decided to break my sheet down in segments, and further discuss what it all means.

A while back, I had written a post in regards to the clothing you should wear during winter months:

https://momarock.wordpress.com/2011/10/30/running-in-cold-weather/

It’s almost summer, so those rules certainly wouldn’t apply. What should you wear in warm weather?

Well, I will tell you that I’m not one of those women who wear super adorable work out attire. I know it’s available, and I know I might feel a little better while running by traffic on a busy street. Yet, the big thing for me is the money aspect of it. I’d rather spend my money on the two most important items on my person.

The shoes. The sports bra.

Whether you run, walk, do fitness classes at the gym, or play sports, you should always have a proper fitting done when it comes to your shoes. Each and every one of us walks differently, and our feet are positioned in different ways. For example, I have really high arches. I also tend to underpronate when I run, because of the high arches. Read this for a better explanation:

http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-240-319-327-7727-0,00.html

Most of us aren’t experts when it comes to the best shoe for our feet, and by going to a specialty fitness store, you will meet with someone who most likely has a good idea of the type of shoe that should be on your foot. Expect to spend a pretty penny for your shoes. I always spend roughly $100 on my running shoes, but it’s more than worth it. I had bought a $30 pair of running shoes once at a shoe outlet store, and my feet were a mess! I am a very frugal person, and the first time I purchased those $100 shoes I wanted to have a heard attack, but I noticed a huge improvement in the way my body felt after running in the shoes. Also, these shoes will last you a long time, much longer than those cheap shoes will.

As for the sports bra, it’s imperative to find the one that best fits you. And, fits the type of work out you intend to do. I have simple cotton sports bras that I wear for weight training classes. I know in my barbell class, I won’t be jumping around much. When I run, I have special sports bras that are specifically for that, and are made of a different material, like nylon or polyester. Something that will wick away sweat, not collect it. Mine were purchased at Target. You don’t have to spend a fortune, but expect to spend around $10-$15.

So, once you have your shoes and sports bra in order, it’s time to buy proper socks.

Ever get a horrible blister after a work out?

That’s most likely due to the socks you are wearing. When you work out, you sweat. Sweat creates moisture, and moisture collects in your socks, around your feet. That constant moisture and friction on your skin creates a blister. Usually, cotton socks are to blame. The saying is, “cotton is rotten”. The best socks to wear are those that are nylon based. You can purchase them at a specialty fitness store, but I bought a large bag of them at Target (or was it Walmart?) for roughly $10, and this was a few years back. They are still in great shape, too. I wear these nylon socks for running, and for my classes at the gym. Since this switch (and after running a lot of races) I’ve yet to have a blister!

Now, back to the attire. My personal preference is that of comfort. I’d love to be one of those beautiful ladies at the gym, who reveal a lot of skin while bench pressing in class. But, that’s just not me. I know I am going to get very sweaty, stinky, and downright ugly while in class, and I am OK with that. I often wear one of my husband’s old t-shirts and a pair of my shorts. For running, I will wear attire that’s more geared towards wicking away sweat, so I don’t overheat. Also, you want to look out for chafing. This has happened to me within my inner thighs and also under my sports bra lining, right in the center of my chest. Again, it’s sweat and friction that causes that. So, you might want to consider wearing longer shorts/short pants or long pants, to help with chafing. I also will put Vaseline under my sports bra, and on my inner thighs to help.

Has this motivated you to get going?

******************************************

A song I’ve heard often in my gym class, as well as one I’ve recently downloaded onto my MP3 player is Beyonce’s Girls Run The World:

Love this song!

Usually in class, we are working our abs to this song. I am often writing about plank work, because it’s such a great way to tone your abs (and the rest of your body). So, get into plank position, and hold that for 30 seconds while listening to this song. Then, after 30 seconds, lower your right arm down to your elbow, and then your left arm to the elbow. Then, lift your arm back up to straight armed plank position, then the left. You want to keep repeating this to the beat of the song. Do this for 30 seconds, and then do straight plank for 30 seconds.

Repeat as many times as you are able to.

Leave a Reply

