My Fitness Cheat Sheet

So, while speaking to the MOPS group (check out my last blog post), I handed out a sheet of paper for the ladies to take home with them, with some tips and pointers to get them motivated.

The handout, verbatim:

FITNESS CHEAT SHEET

-Gear: hat/gloves/pants/shirt/jacket/socks/shoes/reflective belt (in cold months)

Make sure the fabric you wear wicks away sweat and does not retain moisture in warm months. Cotton is rotten!

Shoes should serve the purpose they were meant to be used for; get properly fitted!

-Working towards a goal:

5K’s, fun runs, signing up with clubs, measurements

Sign up in advance for an athletic event, to give yourself time to train. Use a website like http://www.marathonrookie.com to find a good training schedule. At least 3 months in advance is a good rule of thumb, if you are just starting out.

Find a health club that works for you, economically and location

-Outside vs. Inside (gyms or outdoors)

Will you stick to training outside?

Bad weather?

-Using your kids

As weights/at the park

-Get creative

Netflix (work out DVD’s online streaming)

Fitness magazines (cut out work out moves and put them into a binder)

Youtube

Fitness blogs

-Utilize what you have at home

Weights

Purchase at store or use replacements like water bottles at home

Use the steps in your home

Kids (use as weights)

Treadmill (if you have one)

FIND OUT WHAT IS IMPORTANT TO YOU, AND WHAT YOU ENJOY DOING. YOU WILL BE ABLE TO STICK WITH A WORK OUT MUCH EASIER THIS WAY.

-What to eat for energy:

Healthy carbs (whole wheat)

Protein (eggs, cottage cheese, yogurt)

Fruits and Vegetables

Snacks (eat 5-6 smaller meals a day, or 3 larger meals? What works best for you?)

MAKE SURE TO EAT WHEN YOU ARE HUNGRY.

***********************************

I am sure that some of this looks a tad confusing, and as I spoke to the group, they were able to write down notes if they needed to as I better explained each section. So, over the next few blog entries (not counting Thursday; that’s my blog group day and we will be talking about PIZZA, yum!), I am going to break this down and and explain in more detail what all of this gibberish means. Please keep in mind that this is from my own perspective. I understand that we all have our own routines and ways that we do things, and you might find my ideas are unfathomable. I feel I do have a healthy approach and lifestyle, and mindset when it comes to my health and fitness and with that said, I very much welcome any feedback or suggestions, as this will help me to do better and work harder.

Also, a friend of mine recently suggested that I start listing out various songs that I run or work out to. She was wanting to create her own playlist and was looking for ideas. A few that I recommended that were off the top of my head:

Gwen Stefani: What You Waiting For?

Metallica: Fuel

Prodigy: Breathe

As for a work out today- I got my ass kicked in my first ever Boot Camp class at the gym. I was nervous to start out, and it was insane. Of course, this means I’ll be going back. Something the instructor had us do today was use jump ropes. I felt like a little kid again!

This one looks good: http://www.fitnessmagazine.com/workout/arms/express/jump-rope-workouts/

Our instructor had us do drills, and it always began with jump roping for roughly 3 minutes, and ending with that same amount of time. Something you could do is to jump rope (if you don’t own one, use that child-like imagination and pretend) for 3 minutes, and then incorporate some lower body and upper body moves (like squats and push ups). Then, finish that cycle with 3 minutes of jump roping. We did I believe 4 cycles in all.

Have fun!

One thought on “My Fitness Cheat Sheet”

Leave a Reply

