My Top 10 Play List

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

This week, Melissa’s pick was: What are the top 10 songs that are “must-haves” on your playlist? For each song, give a reason why.

I am currently listening to my MP3 player, to get a better feel for the songs I keep coming back to:

Sneaker Pimps: 6 Underground

This reminds me of my youth, so to speak. I listened to this a lot in my early 20’s, and it’s just very smooth and subtle. There’s a line from this song that I absolutely love; “I fake my life like I bleed… too much… I’ll take whatever you’re giving… not enough….”

Sia: Breathe Me

I first heard this song while watching the final episode of Six Feet Under. One of the characters is moving away from home, and driving across the country- and during her drive, you listen to this song and see how the other characters (including hers) die. Very emotional song. For this reason and a few others, it will always remain a very haunting  yet bittersweet song to listen to.

Joan Jett: Cherry Bomb

This song was first performed when Joan Jett was part of The Runaways. I like Joan Jett’s version better. It’s female power, baby.

Ron Reeser: Everything

I’m not usually into techno dance music, but I really love this song. It’s got a good beat and I don’t think it’s overly techno.

Nirvana: Pennyroyal Tea

My list would not be a list without Nirvana. I have a few Nirvana songs on my MP3 player, but this is one of my favorites. I like this version, as well as the Unplugged one.

Beach Boys: God Only Knows

It’s a very sweet, simple song.

Stone Tempe Pilots: Big Bang Baby

The video is silly, but I think STP has this underlying sensuality to them.

Garbage: Supervixen

“Come down to my house
Stick a stone in your mouth
You can always pull out
If you like it too much”

Um. Hello.

Adele: Rolling In The Deep

A powerful song. Some people aren’t fond of her voice, and that’s OK. I don’t think you really have to be. It’s the message she’s relaying that is so strong and incredible. Even those who say they don’t like this song are secretly listening to it behind closed doors.

Daft Punk: Something About Us

It might not be the right time
I might not be the right one
But there’s something about us I want to say
Cause there’s something between us anyway

I might not be the right one
It might not be the right time
But there’s something about us I’ve got to do
Some kind of secret I will share with you

I need you more than anything in my life
I want you more than anything in my life
I’ll miss you more than anyone in my life
I love you more than anyone in my life

 

2 thoughts on “My Top 10 Play List”

  1. i loved “six underground” the summer i turned 21. it reminded me of all my drives to and from the city to go to theater and clubs. i also was a SFU addict and that last scene from the finale was so powerful. *shiver*
    adele rocks!! all her songs on “21” are fabulous.
    i love nirvana’s “nevermind” cd a lot.

    fun picks and i love that you embedded videos too!

Leave a Reply

