The Age Old Debate: To Work, Or To Stay Home?

I’ve seen a lot of posts and articles lately, in regards to whether a mother who stays home to keep after her children can be considered “work”, or if this merely applies to a working mother who receives an actual paycheck from some ABC company. To this debate, there are comments that swing severely from one side to the other, in support of one side or the other.

My first thought every single time is, “Let people live.” Seriously. Why do we insist on making people fit into the mold we fit ourselves into??? No one is just like us, although they may have the same values and beliefs on the way life should be lived. But it’s never carbon copied. Some work full  time, others part time. Others stay home full time. Still others may have support, like a live in nanny. Maybe a father stays home while his wife works.

As for me, I stay home during the week with my boys. It wasn’t always my intent. I fully intended on returning to work full time after the obligatory 6 week “vacation”, yet as soon as Ben was born, I knew that would not be the path I’d follow. Other moms though have the opposite experience, planning on staying home yet feeling the need after a certain amount of time to return to the work force.

On weekends, I work outside the home as a part time leasing agent, and it’s what works for my family. I make a little extra money, and consider this job at times as my “easy” job or “fun” job, because I get a little bit of a break from the noise and chaos that can be childhood. I feel I have the best of both worlds (for me), but someone else reading this might not agree with that.

These mothers who feel the need to bash another mother on their personal choices needs to take this into consideration: YOU NEVER KNOW SOMEONE’S TRUE SITUATION. Maybe that mother has to work outside the home, in order to make it work financially. Or, maybe one of her children needs  extra attention and care so she stays home. Or maybe in her heart, she feels better tending to her children, and doesn’t want to use a daycare, or feels better having her child in a daycare because she just can’t fathom staying home 24-7.

I can truly appreciate both sides.

And in the end, if your heart is in the right place and you are doing the right thing to be a better parent to your children, that’s really what it’s about, isn’t it?

4 thoughts on “The Age Old Debate: To Work, Or To Stay Home?”

  1. Ann Romney has six (6) homes, nannies and maids, she is NOwhere close to a typical stay at home mom. Hilary Rosen was damn straight on when she said Ann Romney has not worked a day in her life. Ann Romney has never been a typical stay at home mother. Ann Romney has the support and backing of a multi-millionaire husband, she can AFFORD to stay home.

    I detest lying politicians and their lying spouses. This is another fake manufactured non political issue.

    1. Well, I’ll be honest here, I was thinking more on a smaller scale, in terms of my friends/acquaintances/etc. who certainly could never afford a plethora of nannies and maids, let alone 6 houses. I can see how frustrating that could be- those of us out here are having to work hard for what we have, whether that be in the home or outside of it. We certainly work! 🙂

      1. Now where’s the “like” button for this? 🙂 What gets me are those who have the opportunity to stay home, and then get upset if a mother chooses NOT to without knowing the full story behind that choice. But like you mentioned before, I think some people can be excessive and that would make anyone’s blood boil.

Leave a Reply

