Not So Wordless Wednesday: The Power of Goodbye

This morning while sweeping in front of the laundry room door, I saw this tucked into the corner:

I am sure Kevin removed this sign from the wall, hanging above  Tank’s litter box. He did this so that I wouldn’t be reminded of Tank.

Of course, seeing this again only made me miss my cat.

Sometimes, we have to say goodbye because God calls someone home. A beloved pet. Our parents. Grandparents. A best friend or loved one. It’s out of our hands and way beyond our control, and it sucks, for lack of a better word.

On other occasions, we have to let someone go because of life’s circumstances. Parents who let their now grown children move on to college, or into their own apartment. A good friend who has to move away.

And then there are the times where you’ve discovered that old adage, “People come into your life for a reason, a season or a lifetime.” 

Maybe you are at the end of a relationship with someone who no longer gives you what you feel you need. Their reason for being in your life is ending, and you feel it’s best to let that person go.

As hard is it may seem at the time, letting someone go can be one of the most freeing experiences you will ever know. A good friend once told me, “Life is a continual process of change”, and I believe this to be true. As painful as the experience may be to say goodbye, you come out of that in so many ways a changed person. A stronger person. You may have learned lessons you never thought you could ever begin to understand.

There is no date stamp. It’s a different time frame for each individual.

I’m still in the process of saying goodbye. I turn down the pet aisle at the grocery store, before realizing I have no need for cat litter anymore. I forget that I have one pet now, instead of two. I have twinges of pain in my heart when I miss petting Tank, or watching him chase after our dog Duke, but those twinges aren’t nearly as frequent anymore. It’s so true that time really does begin to heal you.

It’s all one day at a time.

You and I will meet again, When we’re least expecting it, One day in some far off place, I will recognize your face, I won’t say goodbye my friend, For you and I will meet again.
Tom Petty

One thought on “Not So Wordless Wednesday: The Power of Goodbye”

Leave a Reply

