Where’s The Party?

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

This week, Melissa’s pick was: There’s an episode of “How I Met Your Mother” where they all go to the Museum of Natural History. There’s one point where Lily finds herself talking to an exhibit called “College Marshall,” who is now extinct, since he’s married and working in the corporate world of NY. It got me thinking….what part of YOUR personality is now extinct?

I’d say there are quite a few attributes to my personality that I’ve laid to rest. I don’t know if this realization is a tad bit depressing, or if I should be proud of the changes I’ve made while growing up.

That's me on the left

For one, I loved to party. Like, a ton. Lots of dancing. Lots of drinking. Lots of doing those two things at the same time. This was something I did even before I was the legal age to drink, and it continued on into my mid-20’s. That picture was taken during a WORK FUNCTION. We were all a little smashed though. Yes, I am making excuses.

After I found out I was pregnant with Ben, I hung up my party girl title, and settled into motherhood. I have the occasional drink, and still have some fun, but not nearly as often. I’ve found too that the drinking just made me feel like crap the next day. My body had a hard time tolerating everything I’d put into it. I never was one to hold her liquor, often getting tipsy after 1-2 glasses, and while some people claim to sleep well after drinking, alcohol had the opposite effect for me. I had more trouble sleeping, so I’d be sleep deprived, hung over, and wanting to crawl into a hole and die.

This all helped to lead me onto a path of healthy living. Another attribute I’ve done away with, is the lack of caring when it comes to my health. I never cared what foods I put into my body, or whether I got any exercise. I gained a lot of weight and felt sluggish and worn down. Now, I make an effort to put healthy foods into my body, to work out, to be healthy. Not to say I don’t occasionally fall off the wagon. I love sweets and it’s hard for me to say no to a slice of pie or cake, but I practice moderation as best I can. I notice I feel a lot better for it.

One of the biggest hurdles I’m continually working on is my people pleasing personality. In the past, the thought of someone disliking me was very disturbing. I would go to impossible depths to try and win someone’s affection, or to ensure that people would always be happy with me. Would accept me. While I can’t say with 100% honesty that this side to me is extinct, I can say that I’m no where near as worried or concerned as I was say, 10 years ago. It seems the older I get, the less I care. This world is full of people. Not everyone will like me. Hell, I don’t like everyone, either. It’s just the way it goes.

There are times I miss my more carefree life, before I had children or major responsibilities. Where I’d go to an amazing party every weekend and not have to worry about turning into the proverbial pumpkin (“We need to rush home or we’ll be late for the sitter!), or ignore how much my stomach would ache the next day if I gorged myself on hot wings and french fries. Yet, there’s something to be said about getting the opportunity to have a date night with my husband, or to go out with the girls. These occasions happen a lot less often, rarely to be more exact, but I appreciate them so much more than I ever would have in my youth.

I feel like I may have some extinct characteristics, yet I’ve found some new ones; strength. Courage. Determination. Dedication.

And it’s been worth it. Don’t you think these two are more than worth it?

*************************

Move of the day:

Squat Press: A move we did at my recent Tone Zone class.

I never thought 5 lb weights would kill as badly as they did, while performing this move. We did this move as part of a series, three times. Do this 3 times, a minute each.

One thought on “Where’s The Party?”

  1. we definitely have more catching up to do in our e-mails. lol! i was a bit of a wild child in my 20’s but that changed when i went to israel.
    yes…the kids are so worth being more “toned down,” so to speak. 🙂

Leave a Reply

