It’s Not The Size Of The Dog In The Fight

There’s a lovely woman I’ve seen and spoken to on occasion, whose children go to Ben’s school. I’ve always assumed she’s a personal trainer; often times she looks as though she’s come from a gym, and she’s incredibly fit and tanned and toned. The times we’ve talked, I learned that she isn’t a trainer, but is very much into her health, and a self professed gym rat.

This morning, I saw her in my Tone Zone class. I’ve never seen her there before. She was wearing a cute little outfit, and looked ready to go.

Just so you know, I don’t wear cute little outfits. I don’t think I have the body confidence yet to pull that off, but I was wearing shorts. Which, is a miracle in and of itself. I rarely show my legs. But, I am trying to change the way I view myself, and feel better about the body I have. Also, I enjoy watching my muscles work while I do the different moves the trainer has us do.

The last time I wore shorts- Omaha Marathon 2011

I never went over to say hello to her. I wasn’t quite sure how to approach her. I felt a little awkward saying, “Hey, I’m that mom from our kids’ school who you spoke with like 6 months ago. Remember that?” I decided to just stay on my side of the classroom, and leave her be with her own circle of friends.

The woman who leads the Tone Zone class is very, very intense. She’s tiny and stocky, a real power house, and the various moves she has us do is insane. Completely insane.  And while performing the tasks she handed out to us, I glanced over at my acquaintance and noticed something interesting. She was resting. At the same time that I was. But not always. A few times while I was performing the moves, I had seen that she had to stop and take a break, even when I didn’t need to. Or, she’d lower her weight limit and I still had my original heavy weights.

This wasn’t always the case though. Sometimes, she had heavier weights. Or, could outlast me on a plank hold.

I think so many of us have this perception of what our bodies can and can’t handle. We often compare ourselves. We look at what we consider to be our “weak areas” (for me, my flabby thighs) and think, “I won’t be able to squat that much.” Or “I’m not as toned, so I can’t do it as well as someone else who is more toned.”

It’s really in our heads! I’ve seen women of all shapes and sizes in my classes, and it’s amazing what we can do when we push ourselves, when we try. Older women who are lifting much heavier weights than I am. Very tiny women who squat these heavy barbells, and I am just in awe of what our bodies can do! We can’t compare to anyone else; it’s all about what YOU can do. The goals you can reach for yourself. My legs might never be as toned as someone else’s, but that’s OK. I just do the best I can with what God has given me.

It reminds me of that saying: “It’s not the size of the dog in the fight, but the size of the fight in the dog.” And it’s so true!

So, along those lines (when it comes to fitness), I want to start sharing with my readers a work out move every day. My goal with this blog was originally to focus on fitness and health, so I want to make an attempt to get back to that.

***********

Move of the day: If you have two gliders, like these:

You can use them, but you’ll need to be on a slicker surface. If you don’t have these, you can use paper plates. This was an intense move that the instructor had us do this morning:

Get into a plank position, or plank position on your knees. Each hand will be on a disc/paper plate. Slide your right arm out to your side, extending as far as you can reach, then pull it back in. Then, slide your left arm out to your side, extending as far as you can reach. Do 3 sets of 7-10. Then, slide your right arm out, and do a push up. Pull it back in to center, slide your left arm out, do a push up. 3 sets of 7-10. Now, in plank position, slide your right arm straight out in front of you, bringing it back to center. Then, your left arm. Do this 3 sets of 7-10.

3 thoughts on “It’s Not The Size Of The Dog In The Fight”

Leave a Reply

