Here’s To You, My Thursday Blog Group!

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

Tracey pointed out to our group that we have completed 52 blog posts as of today. In recognition, her choice for this week was: Either rewrite a post from the past year that you weren’t 100% happy with and wish you had a second chance at.

OR

Write about your thoughts on the past year of this project.

Well, I don’t want to change any post I’ve done. I own my writing, good or bad. Over recent months, I’ve been reflecting a lot on our special blog group. When Melissa first approached me with the idea, I was a little nervous. I’m sort of the outsider, not having met any of these women in person. I felt I was intruding on a tight knit group, and although these ladies are fantastic friends, they welcomed me with open arms and open minds.

There have been moments of putting my foot in my mouth (like creating topics that don’t pertain to all of us) or misspelling my fellow bloggers’ names, and a few times I’ve come up with a topic that’s already been done and had completely forgotten. I can be a pain in the butt at times, if you couldn’t tell, yet they’ve been more than patient, and have exuded mass amounts of understanding.

During our journey, I’ve discovered I have quite a lot in common with my new friends. Susanna, Tracey and I are all running enthusiasts, and I feel we encourage each other, and push each other forward towards bettering ourselves and reaching our personal running goals. Melissa and I both enjoy books immensely, and she recently passed on a book she thought I’d enjoy. Once I’m done with the one I’m currently reading, I’m moving on to hers (and I already peeked and read a few pages; she was right. I’m going to like it.). Tracey and I have had some similar life experiences, and when I read about Susanna’s comments on Facebook regarding her children, it always makes me laugh. I can totally relate!

Our topics have been random and far ranging: Movies. Books. Holidays. Pet peeves. Favorite Things. Sexuality. Religion. Addiction and vices. Biggest Regrets. Biggest Loves. Often times pushing the envelope, inventing thought-provoking themes. It’s been fun, challenging. At times frustrating (writer’s block can be the worst). But I’m very much looking forward to what comes next for us.

Here’s to us ladies, and to many, many more blog posts!

Maybe someday, we can do this in person!
One thought on “Here’s To You, My Thursday Blog Group!”

  1. Great post! Made me all warm and fuzzy inside. 🙂 Glad you will be reading the book soon. I’m also super glad you’re part of this blog project. I feel like I learn so many new things about you and also that I learn new things about Kevin through you.
    Keep on writing!

Leave a Reply

