Procrastination: The Art Of Waiting Until The Last Minute

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

This week, Tracey’s topic choice was: Procrastination.

I can pretty much say whatever I’d like to on this subject, and I was very tempted to not say ANYTHING. Just leave the page blank, for obvious symbolism.

But because I can’t shut up, I won’t do that.

What is coming to mind right now is my need to NOT procrastinate. I have a planner. I cannot live without said planner. I also write down my to-do list on sticky notes daily. So, in essence, I have TWO planners. This is to ensure I don’t miss out on something, or forget to accomplish a task. Yes, it’s quite sad.

I also make plans MONTHS in advance. This drives my friends batty. It’s not unheard of for me to ask, “What are you doing in 4 months?” and to receive an inward sigh or groan as a response. Then I hear the obligatory, “Sara, only you plan for something this far ahead! How should I know what I’m doing 4 months from now?!?”

What, you don’t own a planner?

Is that crickets I hear? Hello? HELLO?!?

There is one caveat to my lack of procrastination. It involves doing an activity I loathe, or don’t understand. Case in point: Decorating. I’m terrified of it. I seem to lack the female gene that entitles me to know how many throw pillows go on my bed, or what colors mesh well together. Don’t even get me started on wall colors or decorative artwork.

It’s a requirement for my job (leasing professional for residential community) to decorate our clubhouse, where my office is located. This sets the ambiance. When I’ve been given this task, I always drag my feet. I wait until the last minute. My friend and co-worker asks, “Why haven’t you decorated our clubhouse?” And I give her a plethora of other tasks I’ve had to complete which has kept me from hanging up window decals and twirly paper snowflakes or red hearts, depending on the season. I absolutely hate it. Not to mention she always has to move around where I’ve placed items, because it doesn’t flow or look right to her. I think she needs to quit her day job and open up her own interior design studio. She has decided to relinquish my duties as decorator, and now every month she has to lug boxes out of a storage closet, remove all of last months’ crap, and replace with new crap (shamrocks for March everyone!).

This is just one example. Aside from a few others, I’m just a big old ball of Type A Personality. So much so, that I’m the first one of my group of ladies this morning (a little past 5am) to post this blog.

How’s that for Anti Procrastination?

2 thoughts on “Procrastination: The Art Of Waiting Until The Last Minute”

  1. you are too funny! i’m glad you haven’t asked me to make plans 4 months in advance. i can’t even handle 1 month in advance!!! lol! i am not a good decorator either. i’ve been letting my husband choose how our house should look. i couldn’t even pick out window curtains!

Leave a Reply

