Who Am I, To Teach Others About Fitness?

Well, I decided to put the money where my mouth  is. Literally. After many months of talking about it, research, and deciding whether I would have the time, I sent away for my books and training tools in order to obtain my personal trainer’s certification.

There’s a lot that goes into it. A friend of mine (who I find to be rather intelligent) informed me that she has been certified, and the test was HARD. I’ve also heard horror stories of people needing to re-take the test 2 or 3 times, because it’s just a really difficult test to take.

And the test isn’t cheap.

So, the other day I mentioned my new plans to a few people, and I got the elevator look. You know how men like to look a woman up and down? Elevator eyes? That’s pretty much what I got. I’m sure I was being sized up. Literally. I’m not sure if I passed muster with them, but here’s the deal: I’m not a size 2. I’m a healthy woman, who wants to teach other individuals how to be healthy. This may mean a size 2, or a size 12. No body comes in a cookie cutter form.

My goal is to inform others. To show them different routines and work outs that they can achieve from anywhere, even at home. You don’t need to go to an expensive gym. You don’t have to leave your house, or worry about working out while your kids are around. It’s attainable, and it’s for real. It means needing to think a little outside the box at times, but it can be done!

And it will be done! As soon as I crack open one of these heavy books and start studying… wish me luck!!!!

2 thoughts on “Who Am I, To Teach Others About Fitness?”

  1. I don’t know a lot. But I DO KNOW that if YOU don’t believe in Yourself 100%, no one else will Believe in you either! I know for a fact you already know this, but it doesn’t hurt to remind each other of what we already know! That’s friends are for ❤ You!

    I'm not saying it won't be hard, I have 100% faith in you, the hard part is grabbing a hold of and KEEPING it part of you! ❤ J

  2. Sara, you are right. It is not cheap. My Spin Class Orientation cost me three hundred dollars. I was not even going to do it .Helene found out by talking to one of the people at Mad Dogg athletics that they were doing a Spin Class Orientation at Flag Staff Arizona. There was room for one more person so I signed up. It was Thursday night when I registered and the class was on Saturday morning from 7AM to 6PM. It was a long 230 mile drive to Flag Staff that Friday night. We got to our Hotel around 9PM. The next morning I was there at at this small gym at 6AM. There I met Lori who was to train us.She was a small Buff lady that had legs of steel. To me the class was not that hard because I am a bike rider. There was 13 people in the class. To my surprise only one other person was a bike rider.70 percent of the Spin Class teachers have never ridden a bike outside. After taking the class I had to take a test. I got 90 on the test. Check this out Sara. At 24 hour Fitness in Oregon you do not have to be certified to do a spin class. At the LA fitness gyms here in Arizona. I am a Certified Spinning Instructor. It is good for 2 years. Who are you to teach? Is it worth it ? Yes Sara it is. This could be your calling card. Last 2 Tuesdays I have had a full class. As I look around the room at all the people looking at me to get them moving i feel proud to motivate them. Its a awesome feeling. My class is the hardest of the spin classes. I see big ladys and guys come in and finish the ride. Thats what it is all about Sara. Helping them to reach their goals like you reach yours. And then to have each person come by and shake your hand and say great class I will be back, thats a kicker. Open the book Sara. Read it . Take the test. You be a great Instructor. You know what it takes. Its worth it. So long Teacher. Love You. The Daddy”s.

Leave a Reply

