Not To Quote Cher, But… “If I Could Turn Back Time…”

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

I recently finished reading Stephen Kings 11/23/63. In this book, the main character attempts to thwart the assassination of JFK, and it really had me pondering other events in history, and the ramifications they’ve left on our world. Due to this, my topic for this week is:

If you could go back in time and change one historical event, which one would it be? Why would you, and what changes do you think would come from it?

During middle school, our English class was instructed to do a major research project on the Holocaust, and my subject was on Dr. Josef Mengele, in particular. At the tender age of 13, even I understood that the man known as “Angel Of Death” was scary, and horrific.

I can recall in great detail his many studies on twin experimentation, his specialty. He was fascinated, and would often perform painful torture-like tests on his subjects, ending their lives and then dissecting them. I think I was a little traumatized when I turned in my book report on Mengele, back in 1992. I read Night by Elie Wiesel, as well as the standard reading in school, The Diary of Anne Frank, and these books held much more meaning to me, after all I’d learned and discovered.

At 13, I wished that innocent people had never been tortured, or murdered. At 33, I still feel the same way. If I had the chance to somehow go back in time, and put a stop to the Holocaust, I would. I’m not sure how I would be able to do it. In 11/23/63, the main character’s goal is to get to Lee Harvey Oswald, before Oswald gets to JFK.

Yet, when he returns back to our time, he finds out what changes have been made to 2011 by his meddling in the past, and they are not changes for the better. Would I somehow change the world in an even worse way? If I don’t allow for that historic event, would this mean more chaos in the future, to make up for the inbalance? It doesn’t seem fair or right for it to play out that way, but how could any of us know? I would hope that there wouldn’t be some sort of ripple effect, other than a big blank spot in our history books.

My sister was recently talking with me about a documentary she was watching on the Holocaust. She said, “I remember learning about it in school, but I never paid much attention because I was just a kid then.” She couldn’t believe what was done, the images she saw, the graphic rawness.

All we can ever hope for in our lives is more tolerance.

 

 

One thought on “Not To Quote Cher, But… “If I Could Turn Back Time…””

  1. Great minds think alike. 🙂 Seriously though, even though you’re not Jewish yourself, it is so meaningful to read this. There are people who deny the Holocaust ever happened when it’s such a big part of Jewish ancestry. There are still survivors alive today. It’s sad that it ever had to happen, but I know what you mean about changing things for the worst. Like if not the Holocaust, then what about something else?
    Thanks for such a thought provoking topic!

Leave a Reply

