You Drive Me Crazy!

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

For this week’s topic, Susanna chose: Write about one of your biggest pet peeves.

For me, nothing irritates me more than bad drivers. Which is completely hypocritical. I’m a TERRIBLE driver. Yet, I believe in driving with purpose, and it seems so many of those around me in Nebraska do not. I have a theory about this. I live close to an Air Force base, and so many of the residents here and in surrounding areas are transplants from other states and have such different driving styles. Due to this, you will often get the following scenarios:

Those Who Drive Too Fast: It’s not uncommon for me to get cut off from some jerk going 20 miles over the speed limit. Even when I’m going 5-10 miles over. They will quickly catch up to my ass end of the car, and ride it until I move over. It doesn’t matter if I’m in the fast lane, or the slow (that irks me even more, when they ride me in the slow lane). Sometimes they will even blink their lights at me. Apparently in a 65 mph area, 70-75mph isn’t fast for these drivers. As they proceed to cut in front of me, they often cut someone else off in the process, and then weave their way down the road.

Those Who Drive TOO SLOW: This seems to happen more in the smaller, more rural cities. I had a friend who lived in Plattsmouth, which is roughly 10-15 miles from where I live. Going to see her was TORTURE. Almost every trip out, I was behind someone who refused to follow the speed limit, and would always go roughly 15-20 miles UNDER it. Unfortunately, most of the trip there is down to one lane only, so you are stuck behind the slow poke. On two seperate occasions, I was stuck behind a combine, only going 10 miles on the road. You can imagine my frustration.

People Who Cut You Off: This happened to me the other day, at Ben’s school. The offending car was at a stop sign. I did not have a stop sign, so I was allowed to continue on. He did not think so. He quickly pulled out right in front of me, so he could cut in front, and then parked in the school’s lot. Fine. I could brush it off, until he attempted to leave the school’s lot going the WRONG WAY, and cut me off, AGAIN. I looked at him and mouthed to him, “Are you seriously cutting me off again?” He simply shrugged and proceeded to be an ass.

People Who Don’t Use Their Blinkers: If you are going to turn onto a street, and you are going 45 mph, suddenly screech to a halt and turn to go onto said street, do us all a favor, and slow down, using your blinker in the process. Seriously.

People Who Take Up Two Parking Spots: I had an ex-boyfriend who did this, and I was embarrassed every time he did it. He did it on purpose, attempting to protect his truck. I’d imagine this behavior would only make someone want to “accidentally” ding it.

And don’t even get me started on some of the bumper stickers I’ve seen. I’ll just keep my mouth shut on that.

 

One thought on “You Drive Me Crazy!”

  1. i totally hear you!!!! bad drivers drive me crazy too! i love (pardon the sarcasm) the ones who make a u-turn when i’m trying to go right into the same lane. they do not have the right of way to do this and it is so annoying! i also hate how people sit at green left turn arrows and waste the arrow!

Leave a Reply

