Givin’ It Away, Oprah Style

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): An experiment in knitting, writing- and life

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

This week, Melissa’s topic choice was: Oprah used to give away her “favorite things” on her show. If you were to do a show where you could give people your “favorite things,” what would you include and how would you present it?

Well, I was never much on Oprah. Not that I didn’t enjoy her “company”, but I never had much time in the afternoons to watch her show. I heard about her extravagance when giving away free cars to the audience (I wish I could have been a part of her studio audience THAT day!) yet never saw that episode. If I were to step into “Lady O’s” shoes, here’s what I would hand out as parting gifts:

I love strawberries. If I could eat them every day, I would. That being said, I would give away two years worth of the freshest, ripest strawberries, and they would be organic, which means only during strawberry season. I would shoot for two years, because I recognize most people aren’t strawberry nuts like I am, and may get tired of having berries day in, day out.

My zest for fitness. I’d tell everyone, “Look under your chairs!” And they’d find a stack of work out DVD’s to choose from. Zumba, The Biggest Loser Work Out, Yoga, Pilates, P90X, etc.

I’m a big reader. For my birthday this past year, my husband gave me a Nook. I was skeptical at first. I’m an old fashioned girl, and have always enjoyed the feel of a good book in my hands, while cuddling under a blanket and drinking some hot cocoa. I didn’t think I could ever acclimate to the Nook, but I have, and have found I really enjoy it! Gone are the days of waiting for books to be available at the library. Now, they are downloaded right onto my Nook, and once I’m finished with one, I can move right on to the next one. So, I would give away a free Nook to everyone in the audience already downloaded with some of the Bestsellers out right now.

I love flowers, tulips in particular. I’d give everyone in the audience a bouquet, something similar to this:

but a smaller size, so it would be easier for the audience member to carry out of the studio.

I’m all about comfort. Along with the work out DVD’s, each person will find comfortable sweats, sweatshirts and t-shirts under their chairs, folded up nicely.

My husband recently informed me that he’s noticed I shop an awful lot at Target. I had no clue, but I do believe he’s right. I’d give everyone an $100 gift card to Target, to use at their discretion.

Speaking of gift cards, I understand that my favorites may not be everyone else’s. I’d also hand out a $500 Visa gift card to every single person (I’m assuming I’m also working with Oprah’s budget) to use however they’d like. Let everyone have the chance to acquire their own favorite thing, or things.

 

 

One thought on “Givin’ It Away, Oprah Style”

  1. I love the creative way you approached this topic and I also enjoyed learning new things about you. Strawberries are the best! As long as they were totally fresh and never got yucky, I’d be up for those 2 years! 🙂 I’d use some to make this delicious frozen strawberry pie.
    I shop at Target all the time, but that’s because there’s no Wal-Mart. I do love the dollar bins when it comes to my kids wanting a prize at the store.
    I still can’t completely cross over to an e-reader. I like the feel of an actual book in my hands. 🙂
    Great post!

Leave a Reply

