My 2012 Resolutions

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): An experiment in knitting, writing- and life

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

Due to the new year, my topic was:  New Year’s resolutions for 2012, as well as highlights  from 2011.

Well, I’ll start with some of the highlights from 2011.

January 2011: I don’t know if this would be considered a “highlight”, because it would be more a “lowlight”, if there is such a thing. At the end of January, Kevin’s father Bob lost his brave fight against esophageal cancer. He was 61. I didn’t have the opportunity to get to know Bob as well as others knew him. He was very personable, and made friends wherever he went. I always felt comfortable around him, because he was a very laid back, easygoing person. Bob did this thing that I call the “Steven stare”. Before he spoke to you, he’d often just gaze at you, most likely putting his thoughts in order. Kevin warned me that I might get a little on edge with this behavior, but it was an almost endearing quality about Bob. And, Kevin does it too, and I’ve seen Nolan gaze off into the distance, and we’ll joke and say, “It’s the Steven stare.” We miss Bob and his gregarious personality very, very much.

Bob at our wedding, 2009

May 2011: Kevin, Ben, Nolan and I took a trip to Arizona and stayed for almost 2 weeks. That is the longest vacation I’ve ever taken! It was really good to spend that time with Kevin’s mom, Joan, my parents, and to also see some old friends. I think we all needed that time to relax, to enjoy one another’s company. My sister and her son Ayden also stopped out to Arizona at that time, so it was a little mini-reunion of sorts for the Cover family. It was a wonderful trip!

Enjoying the Arizona sun, May 2011

September 2011: Kevin and I ran in the Omaha marathon; he ran his first half (13.1 miles), and I ran my first full (26.2 miles). Check out my blog post in regards to that: https://momarock.wordpress.com/2011/09/26/my-first-marathon-2/

As for 2012? Well, I’m a huge fan of resolutions, and I have a few big ones planned for the year:

1. Obtain my personal trainer’s license

2. Run the Leprechaun Chase 10K on St. Patrick’s Day: In this race, the ladies get a 5 minute head start. If the men surpass the women, and a man wins the race, all the men receive free drinks. If a woman wins the race, all the ladies do. An interesting race indeed!

3. Run the Deadwood Mickelson marathon in South Dakota, in June http://www.deadwoodmickelsontrailmarathon.com/

My overall goal is to run a marathon in every state; this means I will need to participate in two every year to be able to accomplish this goal in my lifetime. I’d love to run another one in Arizona sometime late this year.

I know I have a few more written down in my planner, but that would mean having to get up off this couch to go and look. It’s not gonna happen. These three will have to suffice for now.

Here’s to a wonderful year, for all of us!

One thought on “My 2012 Resolutions”

  1. i like the new style of your blog.
    i hope maryland is on your list for this year!
    so sad about kev’s dad. can’t believe it’s been a year already.

Leave a Reply

