Tebowing… My Take On It

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): An experiment in knitting, writing- and life

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

Tracey chose a very interesting topic this week: In 2010, the Denver Broncos drafted Tim Tebow, a quarterback from the University of Florida. Tebow, a devout Christian, would wear biblical references such as “John 3:16” on his eye paint during college game. Recently, there has been a lot of talk in the news about Tebow and how he kneels and prays after a game success. “Tebowing” has become a widespread phenomenon to the point it has been accepted as a word in the English language. 

WIth all this in mind, should professional athletes be able to publicly display their religious beliefs during games? What other thoughts do you have on this phenomenon?

When I read this week’s topic, I immediately went back in time, years ago, when I worked for a small company in Arizona. One of the employees was a very devout Christian, and he had religious images on his computer, as his screen saver. It was nothing I would have considered over the top, or graphic. A cross. A picture of Jesus. One of the other employees felt uncomfortable about the images, and requested he no longer have them as his screensaver, and so he complied.

I’ve seen people adorned with head to toe sports gear. During game time, an individual may dress up their home or office with memorabilia. I’ve also witnessed fights break out over whose team is better, or seen insults given out to a team that others found weak, or stupid. I’m not into sports. It’s not that I don’t personally like to play sports, but I don’t follow teams or watch games on t.v. Do I understand when someone gets all decked out and freaks over a fumble? Not really. But, I can appreciate that person’s enjoyment.

So, why do we get all up in arms over religious memorabilia? Was it really such a big deal, for that co-worker of mine to have one image in his entire office that was religious? Why wasn’t he allowed to show what he enjoys, and believes in? Maybe for him, this was his way of rooting for his team, so to speak.

People don’t like what they do not understand. It makes them uncomfortable. Yet, we all have beliefs and views that differ, each and every one of us. My friends are such a myriad of beliefs. Atheists. Pagans. Catholics. Christians. Jewish. I have some friends who don’t really believe in anything. Some of those friends will make comments on Facebook in regards to how they believe, or what they feel, and I don’t take away from that, or strike them down for it. Even if it’s something I don’t believe. Maybe I am comfortable in my own beliefs that I don’t feel it necessary to be bothered about how someone else feels about God, or for some, a lack thereof.

So what if Tebow wants to pray before his games, or display religious references? In the grand scheme of things, does it really even matter? Does this interfere with the game? Is this a hindrance to himself, as well as the other players? That would be my utmost concern here, and I can’t honestly answer that since I don’t ever watch sports.

Maybe he’s out to get more fans, or maybe he’s trying to showboat, or maybe, just maybe, he really does have so much faith and spirit inside of him, that doing this makes his soul feel good. The only person who knows the answer to that is Tebow.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Tebowing… My Take On It”

  1. I agree, Sara. Another question to ask, since football is a Business, what is the policy of the NFL or AFL? Do they even have a policy, if so what does it say? I don’t follow sports either.

    Great point you make! Why is so socially acceptable for people to dress up in their favorite team sports jerseys and purchase so many other items (coffee mugs, pens, CHRISTMAS ornaments!, the list goes on!) while someone who has a sreensaver of Jesus and a cross at their desk is asked to take it down because it’s “offensive”.

    Strange world we live in, Sara. And very shallow I might add.

    A long time ago college football banned celebrating in the end zone after a player made a touchdown. Professional banned ‘excessive’ celebrating. I thought that was ridiculous as well. If I was HAD to watch a game, that was the funnest part for me was to watch them celebrate! It would have been nice if AT LEAST I they would have shown the half time entertainment. Nope, only during the Superbowl.

    Anyways, I’m off track.

    Now, I do understand how College football could ban it, if the Universities are Federally funded in anyway. Doesn’t mean I’m for it just means I understand how they could legally do it.

    I don’t understand why people get so overworked about it.

    Like I told this young Mormon who came to the door when I was in Biloxi taking care of Angie after her surgery…”I really don’t get into religion because I believe it separates people more than unites them.” It really stopped him in his tracks. I offered him something to drink, he graciously accepted, and I told him good luck in his life. 🙂

    I was raised Catholic and we were taught in our religion classes that Catholics were better than all other religions. I asked the “teacher” if Lutherans, Methodists, and Presbyterians were all Christians (I was only 8!) and she said yes, and I asked her how could we be better then?

    She sent me out of the room. And could never give me an answer or tell me what I did wrong.

    I am no longer a Catholic.

    Maybe if people who are offended at whatever verse he has written on his face for that week his team is playing took the time to look it up, and see what message he’s trying to send, they wouldn’t be so upset. ??? I don’t know?

    You don’t even have to be religious to do that.

    The only reason why I could see why he wouldn’t be able to exercise his constitutional rights is if his Employer, or the NFL states specifically otherwise in his contract or in their policies.

    On a completely irrelevant note…I sure do miss seeing a young John Elway play QB!!! I DID watch those games…lol…he was so adorable! HA!

Leave a Reply

