An Interview With Froggie

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): An experiment in knitting, writing- and life

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

Melissa continued with getting to know the ladies of our blog group; her topic for this week was:  Interview your partner from last week’s post. Ask 10 questions, including the one you’re dying to know the answer to.

Tracey (Froggie) and I have discovered a lot about each other this past week, and we’ve noticed how much in common we have! I could relate and identify with many of her responses, and enjoyed reading them. So, without further ado:

1. What are your insecurities?

Well, I make no secret of the fact that I’m insecure in regards to my body. Even though I am comfortable in my skin, and embrace my shape, I will probably always be insecure to some degree about my body because of my experiences with getting teased as a child because I was cubby.

Judgment. Lots of people judge me for one thing or another, and are vocal about it. Sometimes I feel like I can’t do anything right – even though I know this isn’t the case. There is a saying that goes, “Those that matter don’t care, and those that care don’t matter.” I truly believe this and I really don’t let other’s judgments about me influence me, however like with the body insecurity, it’s in the back of my a little bit.

The last thing that comes to mind is my insecurities in regards to my learning disability. I am an intelligent person, however that doesn’t always come across because my LD causes me problems in articulating things. As a result I feel stupid, even though I know I’m not.

2. What is more important – sticking to your convictions or making compromises?

I don’t want to sound so middle of the road, but I think it depends on the circumstances surrounding a particular situation.

3. Is there anyone you cannot love?

Yes. There are people that I can’t even like, let alone love. I try not to concentrate on those people. It’s not worth my energy to do so.

4. How would you describe your life in one sentence?

A little bit of this, mixed with a little bit of that, all tied together with my own special flair.

5. Are you doing what you love?

Depends on what area of my life you are referring too. If you are talking about what I’ve done work wise over the past several years, no. I’m working on changing this fact. If you are talking about the volunteer work I do and the hobbies I participate in, absolutely.

6. Of all the roads to fitness, what made running stand out to you?

Running just kind of found me.

My freshman year in high school I had a crush on my Civics teacher who happened to be one of the track coaches, so I joined track.

I chose to be a short distance runner because I didn’t have the endurance for long distances. I was only on the team for one season, but something about the experience stayed with… I like to think it was more than the fact that I could eat whatever I wanted and still lose weight, but that was an added bonus.

Ten years later I tried taking up running as part of my fitness regime, but my running partner was not supportive and made me feel bad that I couldn’t keep up with them, so I stopped trying. When I moved back to IL a year or so later, and my youngest brother became engaged I kicked-up my workout routine because I knew family photos were in my future. It was spring/summer and I wanted to do something that would allow me to be outside as much as possible. At the time I didn’t have a bike so I looked into running. I was especially interested because I remembered hearing about the annual Hood to Coast relay in Oregon and was greatly intrigued. (Such a race was the kind of thing I aspired to do.) I kept up my running routine for a year or so. The thing that caused me to quit was switching to a gym that didn’t have a track. However, I never forgot how much I enjoyed running and the way I felt after a run.

This past April I was at a wedding reception were I sat at a table full of individuals who participated in marathons and triathlons. At one point the girl sitting next to me turned to me and asked if I ran races. I politely told her no, but it was something I once thought about doing. She then told me that she never thought she’d be in to running races, but after her first race she had the bug. A few days after the wedding I thought about all that everyone was talking about at my table. It wasn’t too much longer I decided I would at least complete my goal of running a 5k. I guess you can say the rest is history . . .

At the end of the day, running makes me happy. I can’t explain why, I mean it’s not like the body produces special running endorphin vs. other forms of exercise. However, even after a crappy run I feel better than I may have prior to the run.

7. What are you proudest of in your life?

That I stay true to who I am and don’t pretend to be something I’m not. I feel that I have a good understanding of who I am, of what is important in life and I try to keep in mind how fortunate I am, even during times I might not feel I am.

8. How would you like to be remembered?

Honestly, I don’t think about how I wanted to be remembered. I’m still here and I want to concentrate on what I’m doing today, tomorrow and the days that come after that.

9. Who has been the biggest influence on your life? What lessons did that person teach you?

There are many people who have had a significant influence on me.

I’ve had teachers who’ve taught me perseverance and that I should never sell myself short. My friends have taught me about loyalty and that you can in fact choose your family. I have two friends who me to encouraged me to embrace my creativity and love of the arts after putting it aside for some time. My family has taught me the importance of hard work and how to survive tough times.

10. For your next 5K, what sort of PR are you wanting to set? Do you have any additional goals for your next run?

I have two goals for my next run. The first is to shave some time off my time. I just haven’t really thought about how much time. Second, I’d like to run more of the race vs. walk. I believe this will help with my first goal.

 

 

One thought on “An Interview With Froggie”

Leave a Reply

