What I’ve Learned About Froggy

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): An experiment in knitting, writing- and life

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

I joined this group roughly 8 months ago. Melissa (Merry Land Girl) had invited me to partake in a blogging experience, and I was more than willing to write. For this week’s topic though, we turned inwards and paired up, giving insight into what we’ve learned about one of our fellow bloggers. Tracey suggested:

“I’d like to know what you have learned about each other by reading these entries. What has surprised you the most? The least? I’d also like you to add in your post one thing you’ve always wanted to ask your partner, but just haven’t.”

And, guess who my partner is? None other than the suggester of topics for this week!

Tracey’s tagline to her blogs ( An experiment in knitting, writing- and life, and her more recent blog One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her) gives you the basic rudimentary  facts. Tracey enjoys knitting. I’ve seen some of her masterpieces while snooping around one day. Lots of warm socks, and I remember seeing a picture of a quilt she was working on. I lack the skills necessary to darn anything, let alone create a quilt or articles of clothing. This fascinates me. Another talent Tracey has, is her ability to write. What I appreciate is her way of talking to someone as though they are right there next to her. It’s personable, and real. Of course, this lends to her offering up her view on what she sees around her.

Again, all easily acquired from her taglines alone.

Yet, there’s so much more to Tracey that I’ve learned from these past months. First off, she is a survivor. There have been moments in her past where she has shown true grit and character, and come out strong. I really don’t know how my own outcome would be if put in a similar circumstance.

Also, she digs in and keeps going. Tracey recently started running again (which, you all know is a HUGE passion of mine) and she keeps it up. Her goal one day is to compete in the  Hood to Coast Relay, located in Oregon. This run is 197 miles, and is the longest relay race IN THE WORLD.  That shows intense tenacity! In the meantime, she focuses on 5K’s and bettering her time to prepare for that dream.

A similarity we have, is an interest in roller skating. She participates in a roller derby group, where I assume she gets to kick serious ass and take names! I grew up in the roller skating atmosphere, with my dad DJ’ing the rink. She joined her derby group, and has already been inducted by banging her knee up pretty bad; in her own words:

In the seconds that proceeded my fall, I had four thoughts. Oddly enough the first three were not “OUCH!”… they were:

1) CRAP MONKEY! I hope this doesn’t screw-up my knee and make it so I can’t run or go to derby practice.

2) SO THANKFUL we practiced falls this past week!

3) Must get up and keep going!

4) Oh, yeah… OUCH!

It’s been awesome getting to know Tracey. It would be nice to actually meet her, and the others ladies in person. Tracey calls herself a realist, and I recognize that I surround myself with a lot with people who are, because they help to keep me more grounded (I seem to float off into the clouds at times). I wonder what it would be like to hang out- I bet it would feel like we all know each other really well, even though for me, it will be the first time we’ve ever met.

As for my question?

I’d like to know what first got Tracey interested in running. In one blog post, she says that she decided to pick up running again… which means she’d done this prior. What made her start running, and what prompted her to stop? What was the drive that got her back into it? I think it’s great there’s another crazy running nut out there… nice to know I’m not alone!

2 thoughts on “What I’ve Learned About Froggy”

  1. Sara, the Company I worked for, Norpac had a team that did the Hood to Coast Relay run each year. You said you and Tracy are going to do it. Thats 2 people. I believe you need 7 people to do the Relay. I hope you can get some more people to make up your team. I also hope we can be there to cheer your team on. If I remember right each person runs so many miles and than tags the other team person to start running their miles. This is a big run. Tough competition. Just right for you. Go for it Sara. I love you.

Leave a Reply

