My Bucket List? Running The Dipsea Race

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): An experiment in knitting, writing- and life

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

This week, Melissa chose: What is one thing you’ve never done but would really like to do at some point in your life?

I first read about the Dipsea Race in Runner’s World magazine. This is no ordinary marathon or 10K. The Dipsea is considered one of the most beautiful courses in the world, and the most treacherous. Young and old alike compete on it’s grueling steep trails. The race begins at 8:30am sharp in Mill Valley, CA, ending at Stinson Beach. It’s not so cut and dried, however. You encounter flights of stairs, as tall as 50 stories. You run through tree lined trails, through a place known as “Cardiac” trail. Appropriately named. You run through rocks and tree roots, encounter steep climbs and plunging valley. http://www.dipsea.org/index.html

I know this all sounds scary- but to me, it’s challenging. I would love to run the Dipsea. Unfortunately, so would everyone else.

This is an elitist race. There are only 1500 slots available. The first 750 participants from the prior year’s race have top billing. They have the option to compete again. After that, the next 500 applicants are on a first come, first serve basis. And you can only mail in your application.

The next 100 or so entrants can use cold hard cash to get accepted to this race. There is a silent auction (the money is donated to a non-profit organization) you can partake in, to win a slot.

The remaining spots are done on by lottery method, where your name is drawn and you are then awarded a spot in the race. If all else fails, a convincing sob story may do the trick. This may make room for you, but there is no guarantee.

What is not elitist however, is your age. Children and the elderly alike participate in this race. Last year’s winner was eight years old. Jack Kirk (1906-2007) was known as the Dipsea Demon, having run the race 67 times (and winning twice). His last race was at 96 years of age.

This gives me hope. I would love to get into better shape, and be able to hold my own out there, in the forest.

As Jack Kirk said: “Old runners never die. They just reach the 672nd step”.

Someday, Dipsea. Someday…..

 

 

6 thoughts on “My Bucket List? Running The Dipsea Race”

    1. No, I haven’t, and you’re right… this is something to look forward to! I think right now, I’m feeling like your latest blog post… the anti-bucket list! LOL! I know it will take a lot to get into this race, so I’ve just been sitting on it.

  1. I’ve never heard of that race but it sounds amazing. I have to admit that now I kinda want to look into it and add it to my to-do list.

Leave a Reply

