Finding The Silver Lining In Your Day

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): An experiment in knitting, writing- and life

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

Tracey’s topic for this week: There is a thing on Twitter called “What Went Well Today” where you tweet things that went well during your day. (Within the 140 character limit of course.) Anyhow, I’m asking y’all to keep track for the next five day (either from today through Wednesday or Tomorrow through Thursday – which mean you post Thursday night) things that went well. If you’d like, share them on your blog. Then talk about your experience doing this little exercise. Was it hard for you to come up with what went well? Did it change how you looked at things? Is this something you think you’ll keep doing?

Well, our blog posts are due Thursday, and as you can see it is clearly Friday. My precious angel boys (said sarcastically) recently had some stomach issues, and yesterday I ended up getting whatever they had, and was unable to post on time.

A day late, a blogger short.

But, I am here now, and if yesterday (or this past week, for that matter) taught me anything, it’s finding the silver lining in your day, even when it seems difficult to do.

October 29th: I work on weekends. So, Saturday was no exception to my usual routine. I had a couple of new residents move in, and had a key malfunction; one resident had bad entry door keys to her building, and it seemed as though finding her a new one would be impossible. Later that day, after returning home and making dinner, and putting Nolan to bed, Kevin Ben and I sat down for a game of Uno. When I envisioned being a mother, these were the moments I thought about. I love being able to play family games, and engaging with Ben. Not to say I didn’t enjoy him as a baby, but he’s an incredible kid, and I love having some special time with him after his little brother goes to bed.

October 30th: Even if my day gets chaotic at work, it’s a silver lining to my week. No work day ever compares to the hard work I put in at home. A resident stopped in to pay her rent, and we chatted for a bit. She’s 22, and recently engaged. She noticed a picture of my family I have framed on my desk, and she asked me about my boys. I asked her if she’d like to have kids someday, and she vehemently stated that there was NO WAY she would ever want children, but a dog would be OK. I informed her that since I’m almost 10 years her senior, I have some insight to bestow upon her. I told her that she and her fiancee might find that in the next 10 years or so, they WILL want children. I’ve known plenty of individuals who started out not having the need for a child, and they have one. Or two or three. My advice to her was to be married at least 5 years before she even thought about kids. To enjoy her marriage. To grow with her husband.

October 31st: Trick Or Treat! Nolan’s birthday is October 20th. It made trick or treating with Ben difficult, and so his dad took him around the neighborhood. It was nice getting to take him, as well as Nolan this year. For Nolan, we decided to only hit a few houses, since it was close to bedtime for the baby. Kevin tended to Nolan back home, and I continued on with Ben. I savor the moments I get to spend with Ben, one-on-one. We don’t get that much anymore. For the first 5 years of his life, he had me all to himself, and he’s done very well sharing me with Nolan. Any time we get to spend together is priceless.

November 1st: Nolan had his 12 month shots on Monday, and is just now feeling the effects of them. He’s always had a rough time with vaccinations. When he was younger, he’d immediately spike a fever, and have one for at least 2 days. This time, there was no fever and no reaction right away, so I had assumed he was out of the woods. That wasn’t the case. He ended up getting a fever as well as spots on his back and chest. This is a reaction to the MMR vaccine, and 1 out of 20 children will have a reaction like this 5-12 days after vaccinations. He is a bear to deal with. Very grumpy, at times inconsolable. And to add the cherry on top, after dropping Ben off at school at 8am, I receive a phone call five minutes later to come and pick him up; he’s vomited. Kevin stays home with Nolan so I can pick Ben up. There is a splash of water on the sidewalk in front of the school entrance. I put two and two together. The school nurse double bagged his belongings for me, all hit with puke. I had to run his back pack two times in the wash to get it completely cleaned. They had another set of clothes on him, because everything he was wearing was covered. So, now I have two sick boys. Kevin heads to work, and here I am, at work 24-7. After work, Kevin brings home dinner, because I cannot make a meal in the kitchen, due to Nolan. He won’t allow it. I have to be holding him constantly. After both boys are in bed, Kevin and I have down time and get to catch up on some tv shows and just relax after a rough day.

November 2nd: Nolan is still not well. Ben heads back to school, but Nolan really needs me today. I can’t get anything else done. Cleaning is put on the back burner. Errands can wait another day. I can’t look at this day as one that’s wasted; I have to look at it as a chance to relax and to just chill out. I engage with Nolan and play games, and try to keep him amused. At times, we just cuddle on the couch and we watch some mindless daytime tv. He feels so lousy, he actually allows it. We never watch television during the day. I can’t remember the last time I’ve relaxed like this, either.

I am the type to try and find the good in a day, in people, and in life. It can get hard going at times. But, this past week taught me that even if I have a crazy, hectic day… it’s not as bad as I might think. And, I have an incredible family who helps out, and pitches in if there is trouble.

One thought on “Finding The Silver Lining In Your Day”

  1. Sounds like a crazy week. Glad it allowed you some down time. I like being able to bond with my kids one on one too. I don’t like when they’re sick and miserable though.

Leave a Reply

