Grown Women Get Envious

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): An experiment in knitting, writing- and life

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

Susanna’s topic choice for this week was: Who are you jealous of, and why?

I made a decision a long time ago to stop being jealous of others. That’s not to say I don’t still have envy, and there is a difference between the two. In my humble opinion, jealousy can get downright ugly. It’s not called the “green eyed monster” for no reason. “Why can’t I be more like her?” “Why does he have that, and I don’t?”

Envy though, is for sure a human emotion that none of us can ignore. “That outfit she’s wearing… I wish I had one like that.” “They go on so many vacations… I envy the fact they have the time and money to do that.” If someone has a pool in the backyard, let’s say, and no one else on the block does, your neighbor has an “enviable” item.

Or maybe jealousy and envy are really the same thing, in essence, but one term is a little more “grown up” than the other. School girls get jealous. Grown women get envious.

As a grown woman, I get envious of those who are young, and have time. I am referring to the people who have no kids, and no responsibilities. Although they think they do, and that always makes me laugh, because I remember feeling that way too! Looking back though, I see now that I had so much free time, and I never used it and took advantage of that. It’s so much harder for me now to prioritize. I have a family. I have children. I also work on the weekends. I have a lot to keep up with and tend to, and I often feel as though my hobbies and interests get pushed to the side. It’s such a struggle; even when I’m able to achieve a goal (such as completing the marathon) I start to feel guilty. Did I not spend enough time with my husband and children? Were there other tasks I could have completed?

I’m also envious of women who have gorgeous legs. I’ve always had some sort of love/hate relationship with my own. I don’t feel comfortable wearing short anything. Skirts, shorts, dresses, you name it. I am working on that though; this marathon has really helped me to break out a little, which I’ll be blogging about soon enough, but that doesn’t mean I don’t stare at a nice pair of stems that walk by, in high heels.

I am envious of women who have fantastic fashion sense. I’ve always felt fashion retarded. I don’t understand how people seem to magically know how to put certain articles of clothing together, and make it look good. I usually have to look at magazines that come in the mail to give me some sort of idea as to what I think looks nice. But it’s always near impossible to find those same  outfits in the store (and I always try to find something from a magazine for less in a store). I was set to hire on a friend of mine who dresses impeccably, to assist me in a little fashion spree for myself. For whatever reason, the plans fell through, and I was left wandering aimlessly through stores (would that look good? Should I try that on?). The employees in the stores always tell you, “oh yeah, that looks GREAT” but you can see in their eyes they are thinking, “Um no. But I want the commission.”

For all this envy I may have from time to time, I try to look at the bright side. I have a great family, and two healthy, beautiful boys. My legs are strong, and muscular (in some areas, LOL). The clothes I wear are comfortable, and make up who I am. We all want what we can’t have; it’s human nature. It’s all about appreciating what we DO have.

And hiring a personal stylist.

One thought on “Grown Women Get Envious”

  1. sounds like we’re similar in the kinds of people we get jealous of. i was thinking of this topic today when i was at someone’s house and thought it looked so beautiful and put-together and how they had really nice things. i wanted to own all of it! crazy, huh? i agree about the fashion stuff. i have a hard time putting outfits together. i used to have a gay guy friend help me pick out clothes to wear for going out. 🙂
    anyway, it’s ironic that you said the fashion thing because of the one fashion consultant i thought you looked like a while back.

Leave a Reply

