We’ve Come A Long Way, Baby….

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): An experiment in knitting, writing- and life

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

This week, Susanna had us read an incredibly interesting article, in regards to the feminist movement. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/peg-aloi/tough-gals-do-they-still-_b_924507.html

 

Her question to us was: This article states that we, as women, have let our suffragette mothers down. We write blogs about cupcakes, knitting and other traditional female pursuits, we have given up working to be stay-at-home mothers, etc. Essentially it boils down to, are we, women of 2011 as bad-ass as women of the 70’s? 

Yes. With a resounding, ass kicking roar…. YES.

As a woman, I appreciate the fact that I’m given a choice. Many years ago, that wasn’t the case. It used to be that a woman wasn’t allowed to vote. A woman was told she didn’t belong in the workplace, or should engage in anything related to physical fitness (she was told this was unhealthy). Her job was to tend to the home.

I stay at home during the week with my children. I can tell you with 100% honesty that it is one of the hardest jobs I’ve ever held in my life. And I’ve had some busy, stressful, high demand jobs in my lifetime. Staying home isn’t glamorous. Some days I want to rip my hair out and go screaming into the streets. But it’s what I feel is best for my family, and for my children. I don’t think it’s made me any less of a bad-ass. In some ways, I feel more empowered. I’m helping to shape my sons into becoming productive, stable, incredible individuals. What can be more bad-ass than that?

I also work weekends, so I have a blend of the two worlds, as many women often do. I’ve often joked and called my weekend job my “break”. It’s not nearly as stressful. I have more than just mere minutes to get a thought processed in my brain, without being interrupted or screamed at. My face isn’t covered with drool, my shirt encased with spit up; I can go to the bathroom and not feel rushed. Some days, it’s a definite vacation.

A woman can be what she wants to be. Being feminine in no way means weak. Kudos to those who can sew, or knit. That’s not a skill set that was passed down to me, although my grandmother knew how to sew magic on the sewing machine.

And I know a few men who enjoy sewing, by the way.

Congrats to those who are able to bake, and bake well. It doesn’t mean these same women aren’t able to roll up their sleeves, take off their high heels, grab a fishing rod and attempt to complete the perfect cast, or put on some hiking boots and go traipsing through the wilderness. I grew up with a father who taught my sister and I both how to fish, camp, hike, and exist in the outdoors. My sister is an incredible woman who can hold her own with any man on a shooting range; yet she wears makeup and styles her hair, and knows how to be a woman.

I just heard this morning on The Today Show  a new book is coming out, in regards to an athlete by the name of Babe Didrikson Zaharias.  She was one of the greatest female athletes of all time, but was never given much recognition due to her being female. In her day, it was unheard of for a woman to be involved heavily in sports like she chose to do. She was an expert basketball player, golfer, and track and field participant. Yet she was an amazing seamstress as well.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Babe_Zaharias

This woman would have been an icon now, in 2011.

We all have different talents, and passions, and some are going to lie on the more feminine side, or what is defined as feminine. But those are all just definitions. A woman in 2011 can be who she wants to be, and it’s that chameleon-like quality in all of us that makes us all a bad-ass.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “We’ve Come A Long Way, Baby….”

Leave a Reply

