Know When To Say When

I love strawberries. LOVE THEM. When I was a kid, you could buy them at strawberry stands, a whole flat of them, for $5. Grandma would take them home and wash them, and slice them up into slivers, and between layers sprinkle a tiny amount of sugar, to preserve them. I’d eat them. And eat them. And eat some more. I’d top them with Cool Whip. I’d put them on my ice cream. And then something happened.

I was DONE. It was just too much. Most of my diet consisted of nothing but strawberries, and I was getting plain old SICK of them.

That’s how I feel today, about running. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE IT. But after running 16 miles on Sunday, I needed more than just a one day reprieve from it. I was supposed to run 5 miles today. My training chart says so. But screw that. I need a break! I need to do something different, so that I’ll want to come back to running, and not feel as though it’s a big chore.

If you start to feel as though your work out is setting you up for a big rut, step away from it! That’s the time to change up your plans, and do something different. Instead of running, I did some weight training. I still feel as though I got something accomplished, and yet I’ll be more amped to run tomorrow morning. If weight training isn’t of interest, go for a walk. Ride your bike. Swim. Do some yoga, or pilates. If your body is moving, you are still doing right by your training.

I still love strawberries, by the way….

Leave a Reply

