My Name Is Chainsaw

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): An experiment in knitting, writing- and life

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

Melissa came up with a topic that is near and dear to my heart: Which Disney character can you relate to the most? (Or is most similar to you.)

As you get older, friends come and go. But there are times where you have lasting friendships, and I have that with my best friend, Goofy. Yes, you read that right. GOOFY. Her real name is Mandy, but I don’t know her as such. I address her as “Aunt Goofy” with my children, and my husband. When she calls me, he says, “Goofy called and left you a message.” None of us give it another thought.

And her children only know me as Aunt Chainsaw.

No joke.

Years back, there was a cartoon called “Goof Troop”. It was a show that she and I watched after school let out, during the Disney Afternoon programming. She had this idea to come up with nicknames using characters from that show. Her favorite character has and always will be Goofy. We spent a lot of time with another Sarah, who had become part of our family, and she became Max, Goofy’s best bud. Somehow I ended up the dog, Chainsaw. Goofy’s reasoning was that I was cute and a bit whiny, but could be ferocious. This dog always had a bow in her hair, and I was for sure a more feminine character. There were others who were in our circle during those days, and she nicknamed everyone. She made membership cards, with a picture of our character, our birthdays, our horoscope sign, the day we were born on, and what that meant (I was born on a Wed, which I believe means full of woe). Goofy is a fantastic artist, and she created all sorts of pictures using these Goof Troop characters.

These nicknames stuck with us. We’ve had them now for almost 20 years. It’s who I am. I understand the need to grow up, but this is a small line that connects me to my past, to my childhood, and I will never let go of that. Neither will she.

One of Goof's pictures- she framed this for me for Christmas last year. I'm the one with the bow in her hair. 🙂
The original Chainsaw... she looks vicious!
2 thoughts on “My Name Is Chainsaw”

Leave a Reply

