Happy Anniversary!

To me, and my husband… today is our 2nd anniversary. I know, to everyone reading this, we are still in the “newlywed” phase of things. Or, we would be, if circumstances were different, but they aren’t. We had lunch today, with our 9 month old, and 6 year old. It was chaotic and insane. The 6 year old was bouncing around in the booth, wanting attention. The 9 month old was screeching and chattering up a storm. Some patrons of Panera Bread looked over at us fondly. Others looked as though a pair of ear plugs would be beneficial. The 9 month old kept spilling his food onto the floor. The 6 year old somehow lost his straw inside his milk container, and had to attempt to drink the milk from the small hole at the top of the container. Drops of milk were everywhere.

My husband and I looked at each other and smiled and nodded our heads in unison. Happy Anniversary to us! (High fives all around).

It’s real life. This time last year, we rented a cabin for the weekend. (That turned sour though; read my blog post about the worst vacation ever). The thought that counts, right? It was just the two of us (the 6 year old went to stay with his dad for that weekend). And here we are this year. No fanfare. No fancy dinner, or rustic cabin. Our anniversary fell on a Monday, of all days.

And it’s OK.

The thing is, today is special, no doubt about it. But I don’t just get to be with my husband today. I get to be with him today and always, and that’s the real message. We are surrounded by crazy, but we help to keep each other sane. When I’m tired, he’s there to help lighten the load, and I do the same for him when he needs a break. Some nights we have just enough energy to cuddle on the couch and watch a movie, but there’s no place else I’d rather be. Being with him is like getting to be with your best friend every day. There’s laughter. There’s insanity. There’s truth, and I feel like he’s seen me at my best, and at my worst, and he accepts that, and loves me more because as he puts it, “I love everything about you.” And that includes the stuff he could live without.

So, Happy Anniversary baby! Here’s to many more years of craziness!

I love you!

One thought on “Happy Anniversary!”

  1. we’ve had some very low key anniversary celebrations since we’ve had kids. we try to get out for a night to just be together, even if it’s something minor. like last year we went to dave and buster’s and got dinner afterward. this past year, we went for a movie and dinner and combined our anniversary with valentine’s day because we knew we’d have no time to celebrate after the baby arrived. we try to get out by ourselves for dates every now and then. grown up time is still important. but i do remember our first couple of valentine’s day dinners with our older son in tow. 🙂
    it’s sweet what you said about your husband. you’re both great people and are lucky to have each other. 🙂

Leave a Reply

