You’re Never Really Alone…

Going out for an 8 mile run this morning felt daunting. It’s been a long time since I’ve done a run that long, and I can’t recall ever going at it alone. I’ve always had someone there either running alongside me, or my husband would hop on his bike and he’d be there to coach me on. I almost felt nervous.

But once I got out there, I realized that runners are a community, even though they are engaging in a sport that’s based on solidarity. A mile into the trail I passed an older woman roughly in her 50’s, who I’ve seen out there the past few years or so. She’s always amazed me with her power and stamina, and although we’ve never spoken, we both smiled and nodded to each other, knowing that in some strange cosmic way, we had each other’s backs.

This doesn’t just stop at running; you always see bikers on the trail, and they almost always nod and smile, or say good morning. It’s a group effort. All of us took the time to get up early, stretch, and work our bodies, even if it’s in different ways.

So really, you may be running with no one beside you, egging you forward, but all around you, there’s a silent community of “friends” who won’t let you fail.

It’s nice to know I’m not alone.

 

One thought on “You’re Never Really Alone…”

Leave a Reply

