Wasabi!

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): An experiment in knitting, writing- and life

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

It was my turn this week, and because I am often ruled by my stomach, I came up with: Imagine you are a food critic. Which restaurant would you critique? What food would you be served, and how would you describe it in your critique?

It’s not that I don’t enjoy trying new things, and new restaurants, but I very much enjoy my favorite sushi bar of all time, Sakura Bana. Years ago, when the place was still Sushi Ichiban, some good friends of mine had pursuaded me to go, and would try to torture me by purchasing crazy sushi combinations, like squid and eel, and dare me to eat it. Somehow, I got hooked!

So, I would love to be sent out as a secret food critic. No one would know as I quietly slip into one of the booths, and order gyoza as an appetizer. The little pork filled dumplings would be cooked to perfection, not too tough, but not too slimy either. I might even throw in an order of edamame, lightly salted and hot.

No meal would be complete at Sakura without a little bit of miso soup. Miso soup is a fish broth based soup with soy and seaweed. It sounds gross, but it’s so good!

For my main course, I would devour sushi rolls like there’s no tomorrow. I would decide on trying some new rolls I’ve never had before, like Acapulco roll (cooked salmon, avocado, jalapeno and cilantro) or a Nebraska roll (Beef, scallions, spicy sauce). Most people aren’t big fans of wasabi. I’m no exception, but I enjoy the little dot that Sakura puts into every roll of sushi. It’s just so good!

There’s never room for dessert, so I would skip that. I would tip the sushi bar like I normally do, for a job well done. If you can’t already tell, I would give a big thumbs up to this restaurant, thank my lucky stars I was given the chance to eat there on someone else’s dime, and count down the days until the next time I was able to stop in and gorge on sushi!

One thought on “Wasabi!”

Leave a Reply

