The Stink Eye

I have joined a fantastic group of ladies, who are involved in a weekly blog project. Every Thursday, we will dazzle you with our insight on various topics. And each week, we take turns coming up with the idea for the blog topic. Please check out their blogs as well, listed under my Blogroll section. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): An experiment in knitting, writing- and life

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

Tracy was up to bat, with this topic: What is your superpower? (Or, which superpower would you like to have?)

Well, I don’t know for sure if this could be considered a “superpower”. I’m not sure if anyone really has one, and if they do, they aren’t sharing! But I have a special gift.

A stare.

I can yell and scream at my son all day. He will barely bat an eye. Yet there’s a certain look I give him, which always reduces him to tears. This isn’t by choice on my part. I don’t purposely go around giving him “the stare”. If he does something that is bad enough, it will illicit this particular stare out of me, and this look of fear passes over his face. He cringes. Tears well up, and he starts full on crying. I’ve never seen the stare before. I can only count on one hand the amount of times I’ve ever used it, but it must be powerful if it crumbles my tough kid, the kid who reacts to my yelling with, “Whatever mom.”

This may sound bad, but I wish I could bring about the stare more often. But this would mean my son would have to be doing really bad things all the time, and really, it’s just counter productive at that point.

Now, if I had to choose a superpower of my very own, aside from my famous stare, I would love to be able to move things with my mind. It would come in handy when I am changing my baby boy, and discovered his wipes are a few feet away, out of reach. I’d just slide those suckers right over to me. Or when you are sitting comfortably in a spot, and you realize your remote is on the television, not close to you at all. Yes, this sounds lazy, but come on!

3 thoughts on “The Stink Eye”

Leave a Reply

